Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Jun. 12, 2003 - 5:06 PM

We might lose the house. We went for the inspection on Tuesday, and it went really well. The house is in nearly perfect condition. But�there are three issues. First, the sellers have really nice, probably expensive, ceiling fans in nearly every room. And they want to take them when they move. This is totally non-kosher; the rules are that anything that�s bolted into the house stays. But they�re being buttheads about it. When we went for the inspection, they had already taken one of the fans down and there was just this lightbulb hanging from a wire from the ceiling. Basically, if they�re going to take the fans, they have to replace them. But we don�t want them replaced with $65 Home Depot cheapo fans; we want something comparable. So that�s the first issue.

The second thing is that apparently they never submitted the forms for their backyard landscaping to the association. I don�t know exactly what the rules are, but the sellers suggested that we were going to have to submit the plans. Nope, try again. That is not our responsibility. They need to take care of it because we are not going to inherit that problem along with the house.

The third thing is a giant stain on the family room carpet. It�s in the corner covered by a chair, and we probably would have missed it except the sellers disclosed it (which I think is a good sign). Anyways, it�s this dark brown stain that they tried to fix with something that bleached the carpet. It�s pretty bad. So we want them to fix it � have the carpet guys come in and put a little patch there.

So those are our three demands, and I�m not sure, but I think the sellers are resisting. I guess our agent told the selling agent that B and I were ready to walk away if they didn�t meet these three requirements. The thing is, I�m NOT ready. I DO NOT want to walk away. I WANT this house. Yes, I agree that they should be held responsible for these things, but I don�t want to lose this great house.

So I�ve been a stress case the last few days. I think I�m driving B crazy asking every hour if our agent called with the sellers� response. It�s very nerve-wracking. And we still haven�t sold our place. Somebody was coming by to see it today � hopefully they�ll make an offer. Now just watch: we�ll see our place and lose the house. That would be typical.

The other thing I�ve been stressing over is the program for my high school class reunion, which is in a month. I took over putting together this little booklet, and it really wasn�t a big deal, but of course in my own true style I made it a big deal. But I think it turned out well. I spent almost all my time working on it over the last two days at work; I was very unproductive, as far as work goes. Oh well.

That�s it for today. One thing you didn�t know about me: I�m wearing a pink shirt. I like pink. I like to wear it. I like to decorate with it � in small doses, of course. I made my bridesmaids wear pink dresses for my wedding, and at least a few of them were not happy about it. But they all looked really good. Pink is a good color if you don�t abuse it.

Bzzzzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004