Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Monday, Jun. 09, 2003 - 5:09 PM

This was such a strange weekend. B was gone. My house felt deserted. I was staying at my parents� house, which also felt weird because it has been empty for over two months. There was no food in the house. There weren�t even any good movies on TV, and my parents get all the cool channels. I felt very displaced. I almost felt homeless, even though I had two homes where I could be.

I was a big veg all weekend. I was super lazy. I ate like a bachelor. In fact, it almost makes me feel sick now. I didn�t do anything productive. I was almost living in a sort of twilight zone. It was as if I didn�t exist. Isn�t that weird � when you take away all the people that care about you, you almost cease to exist. That�s kinda freaky. And profound, in a way.

So here�s the story of the day. D was scheduled to be spayed this morning. So B took her to the vet and dropped her off for the surgery that was said to cost about $150. Before he even got out of the parking lot, they called his cell phone and told him they�d forgotten to have him sign some papers. So he went back and signed the papers. Then, a while later, they called him and said that D needed an additional shot. When B said she�d already had the shot (which they had made her get when we kenneled her there last month and which we expected was just a BS excuse for another $15), they said she�d only had the first shot of a two-part series. So he agreed to let them give her the other $15 shot. THEN�they called to ask him if he wanted her to have the laser surgery or the regular surgery, and when he asked what the laser surgery was, they gave him the guilt trip about how it only cost $70 extra and would decrease her pain and shorten her recovery time. So he gave in and asked for the laser surgery. And then (no, I�m really not finished yet), they called and said they were very sorry, but that they had thought D was a cat, not a dog, and so the $150 surgery really cost $300!

At that, B called the vet where my mom takes her animals and they said they only charge $145, with no additional shots required. So B went back to the vet, picked up D, and asked them to print out all of the veterinary records for our two animals. As they did that, the girl said to B, �Oh, it looks like you never paid us for a shot H received.� B picked up the papers, picked up D, and left.

Can you believe that mess?! That is crazy! First of all, the shots they made her get are BS � no other vet in our city requires them, and they�re supposedly to protect D from some parasite in the city water. And, please, they thought she was a cat?! Did they look at her? And, come on, $300 to get my 13-pound dog spayed? You�ve got to be kidding.

So that was the drama. Poor B had to deal with that. And he had to get a new car battery for my car that wouldn�t start this morning. And he had to get the house all in order just in case somebody wanted to come by and see the house today. And he has a test tonight at grad school. And he�s still super-stressed about all this house-buying/house-selling business. I really feel bad for him. And I feel bad for me because I have to deal with him being a grump. Which is especially difficult because he�s usually such a cheerful, happy person, so when something�s bugging him, it really throws things out of whack.

I can�t wait until I can be excited about the new house. That�s why I wish B would stop stressing. It�s like we can�t even be happy about it because we�re too busy worrying about everything else. But tomorrow we�re going for the inspection of the new house, and that will be cool to get to see it all again. And my parents are going, too, so I�ll have someone to share it with if B�s still cranky.

Other than that, it�s raining. It�s been gloomy and rainy for the past week. It�s so depressing. It�s June! Come on, summer! I�m ready! Actually, I shouldn�t complain because we get such great weather most of the time. Maybe that�s why this is so hard to handle. I�m just not used to it!

Well, I think that�s going to wrap things up for me. Aren�t you proud of me for writing again? I�ll try to entertain you again tomorrow.

Oh, I almost forgot. I have to tell you something you don�t know about me. Hmmmm, let�s see. My biggest pitfalls, nutrition-wise, are pizza, French fries, and ice cream. I ate almost an entire container of ice cream between Wednesday and Sunday. Chocolate chip cookie dough. And I ordered a pizza one night. I told you I ate like a bachelor!

Bzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004