Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Friday, Jun. 06, 2003 - 2:15 PM

Well, I had pretty much decided I was over this online journaling thing. But maybe I�ll give it another shot. A lot has changed in the six months since I wrote. (Six months! I cannot believe it�s been that long. You know you�re getting old when time passes that quickly!)

Where should I start? Well, I got a new job!!! Join me in a collective WOOOOO-HOOOOO! Thank you very much. It is a much cooler job with much cooler people at a much cooler company with much cooler pay. What more could you ask for? It�s not as if every moment here is fulfilling and fun, but at least I don�t dread getting up in the morning to come here. It is such a relief. Having a job you enjoy makes all the difference in the world. I am a much happier person now.

Granted, I�ve only been working here for a month, so of course things will likely seem less enticing in a few more months. And, of course, I did decide to finally update this journal for the very reason that I am, in fact, at work and bored at this very moment. But, you can�t have it all, right?

Actually, right now I feel like I pretty much do have it all. Things are going pretty darn well. B and I just bought a house! We are so so so excited! It is absolutely gorgeous and perfect and I almost feel guilty that I�m going to be living in a place like that in about a month! It has four bedrooms plus a den, three full bathrooms, three balconies, a gigantic kitchen, a nice backyard, and a huge master suite with a Jacuzzi tub and a shower with double shower heads. It�s at the end of a cul-de-sac in this great neighborhood in a fairly new development. The house was just built a couple of years ago, so it�s in nearly perfect condition.

But � (there always had to be a but, huh?) it comes with a ridiculously large price tag. Not unlike every piece of real estate around here. B says we can afford it and our financial guy says we can afford it, but frankly it�s hard for me to believe. Of course, I totally trust B, but it�s scary nonetheless. And now we�re in the middle of trying to sell our condo, which is a giant pain in the butt.

Ever since we got the house this Monday, it�s been a whirlwind of cleaning and stressing. B was super stressed out the other night and he was acting like a giant jerk, and then he took off for a fishing trip in Alaska. We found out we got the house on Monday, and on Tuesday our condo went on the market. We had to have it completely spotless and cleared out (I have to say, it looks awesome) and a couple of people came by to see it Tuesday night. But basically we have to keep it looking as if nobody lives there (no trace of dog or cat, no toothbrushes on the counter, no used towels on the rack), which is rather difficult. And we couldn�t have D in the house in case people wanted to come by and see it. So I decided to take D and H (did I tell you H is the cat?) to my parents� house (they�re out of town) and live there until Sunday when B comes back. Hopefully we will have sold our place by that point.

So far we haven�t gotten any offers, but I�m thinking the activity will pick up this weekend. B�s mom and aunt are coming in from Texas to stay with us next Friday, so I REALLY hope we�ve sold it by that point. That would be an absolute nightmare!

But enough about the house. Man, I�ve been so preoccupied with it, I can�t even think of anything else to write about! I guess I can talk about my animals. D is doing great. She�s so big now; I think she�s full grown. (Mind you, �so big� and �full grown� mean 13 whole pounds of dog.) She went into heat last month. That was interesting. I�ve never experienced that. We had to get her a little diaper to wear with little panty liners inside. There is a funny story to tell, though. B called me at work to tell me she had gone into heat and that he had gone to the pet store to get all the supplies. When I got home, he said he had bought her the diaper (which we called her �panties�) and some tampons. To which I said, �Tampons?!� And he�s like, �Yeah, of course.� I was a little taken aback and I repeated, �You bought her tampons?� and added �And you used them?� He was confused by my skepticism, so he goes over, picks up a box, pulls out a PANTY LINER, and says with attitude, �Does this look like a tampon to you???� I say, �NO! That�s a panty liner!� He says, �Same thing,� to which I had to disagree and explain the difference. He still sort of shrugged his shoulders and said, �What�s the difference?� I said, �The difference is, if you go around telling people you used a tampon on your dog, they�re going to think you�re a freak!� He still called them tampons afterwards. Men.

Geez, I still have more than two hours to sit here, and I really don�t have anything to do. My boss left at lunch, so I�m really feeling at loose ends. I�m still new enough at my job that I sort of need someone to tell me what I should be working on. Maybe I�m just too efficient and good at what I do that I only need to work 20 hours a week to get it done. Don�t I wish that could be the case.

Okay, I�m going to go now. But before I do, I�m going to tell you something about myself. I think I�ll try to make that a tradition. Something new about me in each entry. So, today�s fun fact: I have the world�s worst sense of direction. Literally. I do. I can�t find my way home in the dark. B says the only place I know how to get to is the mall. And that�s sort of true. I use the malls as little landmarks and navigation points around town. The problem is I have absolutely zero feel for north, south, east, or west. Nothing about it is instinctual or intuitive. I have to think really hard about it. And often, even then, I�m wrong. Did you ever see the episode of �Friends� when they�re in London and Joey tried to stand on the map to figure out where he was and which direction to go? That�s me. I wish they made pop-up maps. I definitely need a GPS system in my car. Here�s an example. When I was about 18, my godmother invited me to visit her in Malibu. When giving me the directions, she said to take the San Diego Freeway. So I thought to myself, �San Diego equals south. Take the freeway going south.� Of course, the San Diego Freeway goes both directions � north AND south � and Malibu just happens to be north of my starting point. So I got on the freeway and drove and drove and drove and drove until, all of a sudden, I couldn�t drive anymore. The road just sort of ended. So I called my mom from a pay phone in a very sketchy area (no cell phones WAY back then in the olden days) and she says, �Please tell me you didn�t go south.� Yup, mom, I went south. Needless to say, it took me about six hours to get to Malibu that day.

So there�s a fun little fact about me. More than you ever wanted to know, huh? Well, see you in another six months (just kidding, I�m going to try to stay somewhat up to date)!

Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004