Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Friday, Dec. 20, 2002 - 4:06 PM

D is really sick. Poor baby literally had snot hanging from her nose last night. And this morning her little face was all plastered with dried snot. I got her some Robitussen and a little infant dropper to squirt it in her mouth. I also got one of those little snot-suckers � you know, the turkey baster things that you stick in a baby�s nostril to suck out the snot? Babies hate it. But I think it�s the coolest thing. I used to love suctioning out babies� noses when I babysat. Not because I�m cruel�just because it�s so satisfying to get all that junk out of there. Kinda like when you blow your nose really really good and really empty it out. I feel I�m doing them a favor by sucking out their little noses. Well, D didn�t like me doing it to her, either, but I think she liked having a clear breathing passage for at least a few moments.

Anyways, the poor thing is worse today. I dropped her off at my mom�s house this morning because B is off in New Orleans at a bachelor party (what idiot plans a weekend-long bachelor party in a different state the last weekend before Christmas??? But that�s a different story altogether.) Well, it really broke my mom�s heart to have to babysit all day. As if B and I weren�t paranoid enough taking D into the vet yesterday (and I called them this morning), my mom got all scared and took her in AGAIN today! Basically he told her there was nothing we could do but wait it out for a few days. She told me she�s turning into her mother, who takes my cousin to the doctor nearly every time she babysits her. Oh man, I can see the future�

This is all freaking me out a bit about parenthood. I mean, last night I was a wreck worrying about her and trying to keep her warm and feeling so sorry for her I just wanted to cry. Now I know how parents feel when their kids are sick. And what about the parents of kids with really awful diseases like cancer and stuff? How can they stand to see their kids suffer and go through painful treatments and miss out on all the fun stuff kids should experience? I can�t even imagine.

So that�s the drama in my life. My sick dog. That and getting out of work early today. We have this little Christmas gift exchange thing planned (another opportunity to get screwed) and as soon as that�s over we can go. But all the conference rooms are taken right now so we can�t start the party. I swear.

My brother asked me today when I get off for �break.� I said, �On Christmas.� He couldn�t believe that�s all the time they were giving me off from work. Frankly, I can�t believe it either. Nobody�s doing any work these two weeks anyway; at least if they gave us a week off then maybe we�d actually work while we were here. That�s what�s so frustrating. There�s really hardly any work to do, but we still have to come and sit around here looking like we�re busy, all the time imagining all the stuff we could be doing instead of wasting time. I guess that�s corporate America for you, though. You�d think a bunch of so-called educated, successful people would be a bit brighter, wouldn�t you?

B can basically do whatever he wants until his boss returns on January 6. He�s so lucky. That makes me having to work even worse. The other night he asks our friends, �So, what�s everyone doing the day after Christmas?� I gave him the evil eye and said, �WORKING.� He�s like, �Oh yeah,� but by then everyone else was coming up with these grand ideas about what they could go do and I said to him, �You�d better not plan anything fun.� Then later I felt bad because why should he be punished just because I have a crappy job? Of course, I�d kill him if he went out of town (again) or something, but he should be able to enjoy himself, too.

So I joined a little diaryland circle in the hopes that someone might read my journal and have something to say about it. We�ll see�

Well, I can finally leave work, so bzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004