Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Dec. 19, 2002 - 4:02 PM

The puppy has a cold. It�s so sad � she coughs and sniffles and has a runny nose. So we took her to the vet, who I think is amused with B and me because we�re like clueless, overprotective parents with our first newborn. We�re gonna give her antibiotics and Robitussen and just keep her warm and let her rest. I�m also going to make her a sweater out of a sock � it�s the only thing small enough for her!

She certainly doesn�t think she�s small, though. While we were waiting at the vet, she was lying in my arms and a woman came out with a golden retriever puppy. It was about five months old, so it was a pretty good size, even for a puppy. Well, D sits up and goes, �Ra ra ra ra ra!!! Grr grrrr�ra ra ra!� like she�s all tough. All I can say is that my dog�s got attitude. All the other puppies of the world had better watch out!

Last night I was up at 1:00, 2:00, 3:45, and 5:00 outside with D trying to get her to go potty. She actually did a good job � she went every time. She�s much better about it in the middle of the night. The last few days potty training has not gone well because when I take her outside, all she wants to do is play with leaves, sticks, pull up the grass, and generally sniff around. She�s too busy playing to take care of business. And then as soon as I take her back inside, she squats her little body down and poops or pees right on the rug! But I�ve got her number now. Now I put her on her little pink leash and that way she can�t get too distracted when she�s outside.

But anyways, now I�m exhausted. Now I know how mothers of real newborns feel.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004