Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2002 - 4:55 PM

I�ve actually had something exciting to write about the past few days, but I haven�t gotten around to it til now. On Saturday B gave me my Christmas present early�a puppy! It is the cutest, most precious thing you�ve ever seen!

So life has been crazy crazy around our place. She�s pooped and peed inside about 10 times at this point. Luckily our cat has taken to her (we�ll call her D) quite well. They actually wrestle. She�s so small, though, that she makes our cat look like a lion. He�s a big cat as it is, but put him next to the puppy and he becomes giant.

I gave D a �Hello Kitty� blanket (don�t ask me why I had it) for her crate because it�s soft and pink and pink is D�s color. Well, B brought her over today so I could show everyone at the office, and he called on the way to tell me, �Hello Kitty has become hello shitty.� Ha.

So maybe this explains all the baby dreams I was having last week. (By the way, I didn�t have any more.) I have to say that after getting up at 2 am and 5 am the last four nights to take D outside, I know I�m not ready for a real live kid.

I also have to say that, while I�ve always been a proponent of working moms and women not completely giving up their lives and individuality once they have a baby, now I�m not sure I�d be able to leave my child at home to go to work. Because the last few days I have not wanted to leave D. I just want to be with her all the time and take care of her and play with her and make sure she has everything she needs. Scary, huh? And I figure if I feel this way about a dog, how am I going to feel about my own human child? My own flesh and blood? Of course, I�m sure that once they start being little terrors they�re easier to leave. But D has done her share of terrorizing, and I still want to be with her all the time. Scary, huh?

I keep reading other people�s journals and finding cool stuff I can put on mine (like chat forums and the color of my aura), but still NO ONE has visited mine! (At least not according to the little counter I put at the bottom of my page.) I�m sure once someone finds it they�ll keep coming back to find out what happens next like a soap opera they�re addicted to. And they�ll tell all their friends and put links to my page on theirs and all that. Keep dreaming. But anyways, I know my entries are at least as interesting as 80% of those that are floating around out there.

By the way, B totally broke the bank buying me this dog. He went way over our Christmas budget. I was thinking I was going to have to take some shirts back that I had bought for him, but now I�m not. If he can break the rules, so can I. But there�s no way any of my measly gifts I bought for him can compete with a puppy.

By the way, can I just say that I have the most incredible husband in the world? (HMP alert.) He wasn�t planning on buying me a puppy; in fact, we had decided we were going to wait to get a dog until we had a bigger place with a real yard and everything. But D is the same breed as my dog that now lives with my parents (he�s really a family dog, but I consider him mine because he loves me the most). Ever since we got married I�ve been complaining about how much I miss my dog. And even though B�s been trying to get me to refer to the cat as �our cat� and not �his cat,� he knew the cat was really his and would always be his (for the same reason that the family dog is mine). So he was Christmas shopping with my mom on Saturday and they passed this pet store, and there was the puppy playing in the front window � a perfect little miniature version of my other dog � and B just knew he had to buy her for me. He spent beaucoup d�argent (see how smart I am?) and went against all common sense that says we really should wait to get a dog and just bought her on the spur of the moment! So cool!

You know, I think I�m just too happy to write an interesting journal. All these other people with user names like deathluvr and hatetheworld are writing about razor blades and darkness, and I�m writing about puppies. Ha.

That�s it. Bzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004