Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2004 - 4:06 PM

I did something yesterday that I feel good about. Something a little out of character for me.

I have this friend, let�s call her Bambi. She and I have known each other since kindergarten. We were in Brownies together. We took dance classes together. We drove to high school together. We were cheerleaders together. We even pledged the same sorority, but at different colleges.

So Bambi is a girl who I was always friends with just because. We weren�t best friends, but we spent a lot of time together as we were growing up. Actually, we were always a little bit competitive because we were often involved in the same things. But I guess it never got ugly or anything.

About five years ago, Bambi�s mom passed away from cancer. It was very sad (duh) because I had known her mom as long as I�d known Bambi, and she had also been a big part of my childhood, always involved in leading the Girl Scouts or carpooling to dance lessons or whatever. At that point, Bambi and I hadn�t been close for several years because we�d gone our separate ways, but I went to the memorial service and I hurt for their family�s loss.

So fast forward to my 10-year high school reunion last summer. I called Bambi up to see if she wanted to meet up with me and the girls for drinks before the reunion and she joined us. We chatted about our lives and whatnot, and we all talked about how we needed to stay in touch and have regular girls� night out. That was over a year ago. I haven�t talked to Bambi since.

But about a week ago, Bambi�s mom was in my dream. I don�t remember anything beyond that. And then a couple of nights ago, Bambi herself was in my dream. She was playing softball with my team. And then yesterday our IT guys told everyone in the company that we needed to clean out our Outlook boxes, so I started deleting old e-mails. And I came across an e-mail trail that went back and forth with the subject line �Bambi.� (Another friend was letting me know he had run into Bambi and that she had mentioned me.)

The first dream was a little odd. The second one seemed like a funny coincidence. But when I came across the e-mail trail, I just couldn�t let it go. It was bugging me. I�d thought of calling Bambi off and on over the past year, so I started thinking about it again.

Driving home from work, I thought to myself, �I should really call Bambi soon.� And then I thought, �Why not now?� And I did. I dialed her old number that I remembered from childhood, and she picked up the phone. Just like that.

We had a really nice conversation. She just passed her exams to become a Physician�s Assistant, and she�s dating an orthopedic surgeon. She�s living at home and taking care of her dad who, the last I heard, was still not handling his wife�s death well. (I think Bambi is sort of playing the �mom� role for her family now.) We talked about mutual friends and how many of them are having babies. We just got caught up on each others� lives. And it was nice. It made me feel good.

You know how you get those e-mails about seizing the moment and not putting off �til tomorrow what you can do today? I finally did it. Like I said, it�s totally out of character for me to just call someone up out of the blue. But I did it, and it felt good. I should do it more often.

~*~

You know what B and I did this weekend? We slept. Literally, I feel like we slept the weekend away. Which is nice while you�re doing it, but then it�s Monday morning and the weekend�s over and you�re like, �Where does all the time go?!?�

We did a couple of other things, like I went running (10 miles on Saturday, 8 on Sunday) and we went to church and we went out to lunch and (as you know) we went to dinner with Bro and Blondie on Friday night and we had dinner with some other friends on Saturday night and I did a little bit of PL research. But really, other than that, we slept.

~*~

B hasn�t had any more dizzy spells lately. He cut back on his medication (at first he went cold turkey and didn�t take any at all for a couple of days, but I guess he couldn�t handle it) and hasn�t had any dizziness for several days. That�s good news.

~*~

I�m getting my hair cut on Friday. It is an ugly rat�s nest that hasn�t been cut for months and months and months. And I�m getting my toenails done today after work. They are very grown out and I�m getting sick of the color. I�m practically going to be a new woman by the end of the week!

~*~

I ordered new underwear from Victoria�s Secret and they arrived the other day! They were on sale. I opened my package and found eight little bags of beautiful balled-up satin. There just aren�t many things that compare to a new pair of *panties.* From Victoria�s Secret. On sale.

~*~

In my PL research the other night I discovered that there are over 90 schools within a five-mile radius of our store location. That�s a lot of schools. That�s a lot of phone calls to make.

We�re definitely going to Philadelphia for our PL training the last week of October. Not that we�ve signed our lease yet. Not that I�ve said anything to my boss about all of this yet. Not that we have any clue when the Grand Opening will be.

I�ve been driving B crazy asking every day about the lease. Apparently the lawyer is still going over it and negotiating some points with the shopping center people. But I need to know when it will be finished and when we are going to sign it so I can tell my work that I�m leaving and start planning my life. I really, really hate waiting.

1 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004