Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004 - 4:56 PM

Last night I went to bed at 8:30. I don�t think I�ve gone to bed that early since I was 10 years old.

I�d been tired for the last two days so I�d already decided I was going to bed early. So after watching the debates, I glanced at the clock and saw that it was on the hour. Maybe the debates seemed a lot longer to me than they really were, because I assumed it was 9:00. I told B I was gonna take Dixie for her walk and get ready for bed.

�You ARE?� he said, incredulously.

�Yes,� I answered, wondering at his surprise. �I TOLD you I was tired.�

�Okaaaaay,� he replied.

So I took Dixie for her walk, went upstairs to change my clothes and clean up for bed, and when I crawled into bed I looked at the clock. 8:34. Wait. EIGHT thirty-four??!

I laughed as B got into bed and I confessed that I�d thought it was 9:30, not 8:30. He said, �See? I thought it was a little strange you were going to bed so early.�

�Oh well,� I said. �I�m still tired, so I�m going to sleep.�

And I slept. Until 1:50 when I had to go to the bathroom. And then until 5:15 when my alarm jolted me awake for my run.

And you know what? Even after nearly nine hours of sleep, I still felt exhausted as I hauled my body out of bed at 5:15. But I have felt better today.

~*~

And during my nine glorious hours of sleep, I dreamed about another childhood friend of mine. Do you think that means I have to call her now, too?

~*~

I couldn�t bear to put Dixie out in the yard this morning when I left for work. She was curled up on the couch in the teeny-tiniest little ball you�ve ever seen, she was almost like a little snail. And when she looked up at me out of those sweet little black eyes, and I just couldn�t put her out there in the cold, foggy yard.

So, I�m a pushover, a softie, and I let her stay inside. I went home during lunch to let her out, and she spent nearly the whole time eating grass in the yard. Maybe she has a tummy ache, poor baby.

She just better not have a tummy ache on our carpets. We just had them cleaned yesterday.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004