Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2004 - 4:20 PM

Today is a sad, sad day. I am removing pamie.com from my list of journals I read. A couple of years ago, a friend told me about pamie and I started reading. I would sit in front of my computer and laugh my butt off. She had this way of writing that constantly had me in stitches. But the last year or so I�ve found the journal disappointing. Not so funny, not so interesting, not so many updates. So while I love Pamie and wish her well with all the happy things she has going on in her life (which is probably why she isn�t updating all that much), I must bid a fond farewell. I�ll check in every now and then.

On that note, I�ve also added a few people to my list of journals I read. If you want something funny � something that will make people in the cubicles around you peer around the corner, wondering where the maniacal giggling is coming from � read �A Story about Someone Else�s Ass� by Dooce.

~*~

And now, here�s a random story. If you�re close to my age, no doubt you remember the Cabbage Patch Kid craze that hit circa 1983. I was in third grade, I think, and I was in the heart of the frenzy. I wanted a Cabbage Patch Kid so badly I couldn�t stand it. As did every other girl between age two and 13.

The CPK was number one on my Christmas list, so my mom headed out on the quest for a CPK. While I was in school, she went from store to store to store, dragging my little brother (approximately age 3) along with her. Whenever she went up to Customer Service or whatever, she�d ask, �Do you have any C-A-B-B-A-G-E P-A-T-C-H?� so little brother wouldn�t squeal and tell big sister what he and Mom had been doing all day. Also so the Christmas morning surprise wouldn�t be ruined, I suppose.

Anyway, after days of searching and spelling out loud, my mom left yet another toy store after being told that there were no CPKs to be found. And as they walked out of the store, my brother looks up at my mom and goes, �You sure are having a hard time finding a Cabbage Patch Kid, huh Mom?� She could only laugh. To keep from crying.

Judging from the fact that I am now a well-adjusted and fully functioning adult, you�ve probably already figured out that I did get a CPK that Christmas and avoided a close brush with severe childhood trauma. My brother got one too (much to my dad�s dismay � �boys don�t play with dolls!�). I don�t know how my mom did it, but somehow she scrounged up not one, but two of those ugly dolls before Christmas morning.

~*~

And another, slightly less random story. I�ve talked about my hatred for lotion here. And I�ve talked about how my dog and cat fight like crazy animals here.

Anyway, I found this great new product � it�s rinse-off lotion (Olay) that you put on in the shower and then rinse off, like hair conditioner. I was eager to try it because of the above-mentioned hatred for lotion. So the other day I used it for the first time.

I got out of the shower and went about my business of getting ready for work. As I was putting on my underwear, Hondo comes up behind me and bites the back of my leg! I jumped and scolded him and returned to stepping into my underwear. He bit me again. �Hondo! Cut it out!� I yelled. But he wouldn�t stop. So I swatted at him with my underwear, which only encouraged him to lunge at me with outstretched claws. I tried to move away from him and he followed me, chomping at my calves the whole time (I think he loved � or hated, I guess � the smell/taste of my new lotion). I ran into the hallway (naked, I must add) and he followed. I tried to shut the bedroom door on him, but he slithered through the crack and lunged at my underwear as I tried to swat him away with them.

I paused and stopped for a second. None of my escape tactics was working. I was under attack by my own cat. I didn�t have time for this. Not to mention, it hurt! So I thought for a moment. Then�

�Dixie!� I called. I could hear the tags on her collar jingle as she ran up the stairs. She entered the bedroom, took one look at Hondo sitting in the middle of the room, and pounced on him, wrestling him to the ground and biting at his ears.

Ha! Take that, you mean old cat.

~*~

I think that�s all for today. Talk about a random entry.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004