Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, May. 06, 2004 - 3:51 PM

I�ve gained two pounds. It makes no sense to me. I could sit here and say that it doesn�t upset me, but it does. It�s really depressing.

Again, I don�t feel like I�ve gained weight. I don�t think I look like I�ve gained weight. But the scale doesn�t lie, does it? Two pounds. A total of three pounds altogether since my lightest weigh-in a few weeks ago.

No, I haven�t been a perfect WW follower the past week. I�ve cheated a little. But no more than I did other weeks, when I still lost weight.

Again, I�m wondering if maybe the extra pounds are muscle weight, since I�ve been going to the gym to lift weights and running fairly consistently. But then again, maybe I�m just kidding myself, making excuses.

Of course, I�d be able to put my mind at ease if I�d only taken my measurements like I talked about a couple of weeks ago. But I didn�t. So I have no way to compare. No way to see if the numbers on the scale are just numbers or if they�re something real, something that I should be worried and upset about.

I guess what I have to do is follow the diet TO THE LETTER for the next week and see what happens. Then if I don�t lose weight, I�ll know that it�s either the muscle mass thing or simply that I�ve reached a plateau and I�m just not going to lose anymore.

I guess that�s the basic problem. I don�t know how much weight I should even be trying to lose. Maybe I shouldn�t expect to stay at such a low weight. But on the other hand, maybe that�s just letting myself off easy.

I�m confused over this. I�m frustrated. And I�m beginning to wonder if it�s really worth all this worry and strife. I mean, countless people have told me how great and how skinny I look. Why can�t I just take it for what it�s worth and be happy with that?

Why? Because I feel like I�m failing, that�s why. I feel like I was doing so well for a while there, and now I�ve gotten off track and I�ve failed. And I feel like I need to just buckle down and stop being a whiner and quit thinking that, for some reason, I deserve to eat cookies after dinner. Because I don�t.

When I really think about it, this whole diet thing is a depressing prospect. Because it�s not like you lose X amount of weight and then you�re done. No, you lose X amount of weight and then you have to spend the rest of your life fighting not to gain it back. The rest of your life without cookies after dinner.

Siiiiiiiigggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhh.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004