Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, May. 13, 2004 - 5:06 PM

I will now expound on several random topics.

I saw �13 Going on 30� last night. It wasn�t as good as I was hoping. But it made me smile. It also made me want to go buy lots of really fashionable new clothes.

*****

WW Update #14: I must bow down to the Scale Gods because this week I recorded a 3.5-pound loss. That�s huge! Yes, I was pretty good all week, but just as bad during the weekend as I had been the previous weeks. So it makes no sense at all. I�m just going with it�

*****

I realized that the main reason I was getting so baby crazy the other day and actually seriously considering going off the pill was that I was really hating my job at the moment. You know when you have those days, those weeks, at work? It was one of those, and I guess in some wacko way I thought that getting pregnant would be a good way to get out of working in cubicle world. Crazy girl.

*****

B and I are going to start planning a European vacation for next year. We�ve always said we want to do it, and we keep putting it off, and we need to just do it. So we�re going to sit down and think about it and plan out when and where we want to go and start solidifying the plans so there won�t be any more excuses. We�re going to try to take two weeks. We�re thinking Italy for sure, and probably Spain. Greece is on the table, too, but B doesn�t seem all that excited about it. We�re thinking next April. Woo hoo!

*****

We�re also thinking about a road trip later this summer, maybe up to Oregon or maybe the Grand Canyon or maybe Yellowstone. We don�t know � there are so many places to see and so little time!

*****

We�re leaving tomorrow to go to San Francisco. Originally, the plan was to �run� the Bay to Breakers �race,� where people dress up in crazy costumes (if they choose to wear anything at all) and sing silly songs and get drunk and just generally have a good time. But since B can�t run the race and actually shouldn�t even walk it (it�s seven miles), we decided to go to Alcatraz instead. A bunch of our friends are going too and we�re going to eat at good restaurants and party in the big city like real-live cool people. I�m also going to get to see one of my best friends, Andrea.

*****

I�m also planning a surprise birthday trip for B for the first weekend in June. I�m even taking a day off work for it. Wow. He doesn�t know anything about it, but we�re going to drive up to Santa Barbara in the morning and (in no particular order) have cheese and crackers and wine, hang out by the pool, go to the wine country, go out for a really nice dinner, and maybe even get massages. It�s going to be a very relaxing, very romantic weekend. We deserve it. We need it.

*****

On an entirely different, horrible note, that whole beheading thing in Iraq literally makes me sick to my stomach. I know you can see the video on the Internet, and I can�t imagine choosing to watch it. Some of the radio stations have been playing the sound, and luckily I haven�t heard it. Just thinking about the horror of that makes me want to throw up. And it makes me mad that they�re blaming it on the whole prisoner abuse scandal (which, admittedly, I think is atrocious too, but on an entirely different level). I do not believe that this latest execution was revenge for what�s been happening in the prisons; I think the U.S. media is turning it into an �act of revenge� to serve particular political purposes. I think it�s terrible that people (and Americans in particular) want to make everything our fault. This was not our fault! This was an unspeakable act committed by heartless people with no respect for human life. Regardless of your beliefs concerning this war, that young man did not deserve what happened to him, his family did not deserve this heartache, and the U.S. does not deserve to have its citizens treated in such a way. It is unacceptable and the U.S. should not stand for it. I think the U.S. had better get its butt in gear and put an end to this nonsense once and for all. We�re trying to be too sensitive and too politically correct and we�re being humiliated.

*****

To shift gears (perhaps inappropriately) again, I got my toenails painted last week and they are dark pink with white polka-dots all over them. They�re a teensy bit Minnie Mouse-ish, but they�re still super-cute. B doesn�t like them, but that just proves he�s got no fashion sense because I�ve gotten tons of compliments on them.

*****

And speaking of fashion sense, I was going through my wardrobe this weekend and switching out my winter clothes for spring and summer clothes and getting rid of clothes I�ve had forever and never wear, and I came across a couple of items on which I asked B�s opinion. One was this pair of cropped pants that are red and orange cropped in a sort of oriental-inspired pattern. B told me they were �loud� and said I should get rid of them, so I put them in the give-away pile. But the more I thought about them, the more I decided that I liked them, and I told the girls at work about them and decided to wear them the next day and get their opinion. I did yesterday and the verdict was an overwhelming approval. The orange and red pants stay! They were so much fun! I think I�ll wear them this weekend too.

*****

I think that�s it for now. Have a fantastic weekend!

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004