Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2004 - 11:55 AM

Have you seen �Old School�? If you haven�t, it�s a funny movie. Definitely worth the price of a rental. The basic premise is that these middle-aged guys start a fraternity and start acting like college-aged fraternity guys.

There�s this one part where the Will Ferrell character is trying to leave the party and one of the college kids is trying to talk him into staying and doing a keg stand. The Will guy is like, �No, I have to get home, I have a really busy day tomorrow.� And the frat kid says, �Oh really, what do you have to do?� And the Will guy says, �Well, we have to go to Lowe�s, and then we have to get to Bed Bath & Beyond �� and the college kid is looking at him like he�s the biggest dork in the world and the Will guy realizes what he�s saying and decides to stay and do the keg stand.

At that point in the movie, both B and I cracked up and then looked at each other knowingly. Busted. That was us! WE were the middle-aged dorks!

This past weekend was a good example. You read the entry. (Well, maybe.) I was totally content with my weekend that I spent shopping at Michael�s and Lowe�s, doing crafts and planting flowers, doing laundry and cleaning the kitchen. That made me HAPPY.

When did this happen? When did I become this person who enjoys, for instance, going to the grocery store with my husband? When did weekends become a time to catch up on laundry? When did I begin spending my money on home accessories instead of new shoes? When did the perfect Friday night become eating leftovers and lying on the couch to watch a rented movie?

And get this. I�m into scrapbooking. SCRAPBOOKING of all things. There was a time when I thought scrapbooking was only for bored housewives who needed something to fill their time. I really looked down on people who would spend their money, not to mention hours upon hours, on scrapbooking.

But now I�m one of those people. I go to a scrapbooking workshop almost every week and spend three hours among all the young moms (there are a few of us non-moms there) cutting out shapes and making frames for my pictures and trying to find the perfect sticker that will make my page complete. Sometimes I�ll even spend an afternoon or evening at home doing it. I�m even thinking about going on a scrapbooking WEEKEND � a whole weekend! � with some of the other women from my neighborhood.

I suppose this is just what people our age do. Especially married people our age. I think we�re SUPPOSED to start settling down and making our homes and building our families. Right? It�s not boring, really. For me, I actually think this is a perfect phase of life.

Because B and I still have fun. Yeah, we have meals to cook and bathrooms to clean and dry cleaning to pick up, but when we�re not doing that stuff we go out and have a good time. No, really, we do have fun. Actually, this Friday night (I left this out of my weekend synopsis) we went out for sushi with our neighbors. Then we went back to their house and drank and played cards and dice and talked, and before we knew it, it was 2 in the morning!

So, see, we do know how to party. Occasionally. When we�re not too tired. Hee.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004