Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2003 - 4:52 PM

I only have 20 minutes to write, and I can�t think of anything very interesting to say.

So I�ll write about my dog. What else is new? (I just know I�m going to be one of those mothers who can�t talk about anything but her kids � some day, that is � no, no big announcements today.)

Anyway, her party was a blast. Everyone had fun � Dixie, her best friend Lacy (a Chihuahua mix that lives down the street), the kids, even the parents got a kick out of it. I made a big poster of Dixie at work for the kids to play Pin the Tail on Dixie. The best part was when I made several copies of the poster so I could cut off the tails. I mean, they had to have tails to pin on, right? Well, Dixie�s tail is pretty much just a black stump, about two inches long, so my pile of cut-out tails looked a bit funny � and a little suggestive, too. The girls at work didn�t think I should use them. They thought all the parents would be appalled. Well, nobody said a word. The kids thought it was the best game in the world.

We sang happy birthday and ate cake and ice cream and just hung out. The kids went crazy as usual, but they were in the backyard, so who cares? Then we opened presents. Yes, you heard me right � presents. To my surprise, nearly everyone who came brought a gift! It was crazy. She got enough bones and treats to last another year, several toys, a sweatshirt (to match Lacy�s sweatshirt � how cute!), and even a jacket! (Seriously, the jacket is hilarious. It�s this brown pleather with a flannel-like collar and trim around the cuffs and everything!)

So it went really well. I was very happy. There are two little boys who live across the street with us, and the little one, Nicholas, is about four years old and the cutest thing you�ve ever seen. He LOVES Dixie. He�s the one who has come to the house and rang the doorbell to ask if Dixie could play. Anyway, I guess he�s the Person of the Week at his preschool this week, and on Thursday they get a special show and tell time when they can bring all sorts of things from home, including their pets! But since Nicholas doesn�t have a pet of his own, he and his mom asked if they could take Dixie to share tomorrow! Isn�t that adorable?!

Then, Dixie and I wrote out thank-you notes to everyone who gave her birthday gifts, and �we� wrote them as Dixie might, with backwards S�s and E�s and stuff. So apparently, Nicholas got the card and was just thrilled that Dixie had written to him! Kids crack me up! I wish I were so easily pleased!

So that�s the story for today. My dog is the neighborhood star!

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004