Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Monday, Sept. 15, 2003 - 11:34 AM

We had an awesome anniversary.

After going to church in the morning, where the pastor was astute enough to remember it was our anniversary, we went home and B said we had to get ready to go. I really had no idea where we were going or what we�d be doing, and when B said I�d need my bathing suit, I was really confused.

So we packed up some stuff and got in the car and headed off. I thought maybe we were going to Catalina, but it seemed like we were getting a late start for something like that. Then I thought maybe we were going to Wild Rivers, but we went the wrong way for that. But then we made a turn and I knew where we were going � Glen Ivy!

It�s a day spa where they have mineral baths and mud baths and all these other services like massages and facials and manicures and that kind of thing. I was so impressed that B thought of something like that! (He was tipped off by a friend.)

He had made appointments for us both to get massages and facials, and for me to get a pedicure. It was so so wonderful. I absolutely love massages, and if I ever have enough disposable income, I�m going to get a massage every week. The facial was great, too. I fell asleep a little bit while she was doing it. She raved over my skin, telling me that I was very lucky (and I wonder if they say this to everyone), and my skin feels so soft today. I love it! Then, I was floating in the pool waiting for B to finish his facial (I love that he�s not too macho to appreciate something like a facial � they called it a �sports facial� to make it easier for the men to swallow, but it was basically the same facial I got), and I missed my pedicure appointment. Oh well. I can get one later.

So we spent all day there. We slathered ourselves with mud, and then stood in the sun until it dried. Then you brush it off your body (as much as you can) before showering to get the rest off. It�s supposed to exfoliate and soften your skin, and maybe it does, but basically it�s just fun! How many times do you get to rub mud all over yourself? (It was a little bit stinky, though.)

We decided to do dinner at home, and I think that was perfect. We cooked shish-kabobs (is that how you spell it?) on the grill and made salad, and we ate our dinner (for the first time) on our wedding china. We made it romantic with candles, and we had wine in our wedding crystal. It was really nice. It wasn�t all fancy-schmancy or anything � it was just us. I love that we can have a simple dinner at home and it�s still special. We don�t need all the extra hoopla.

We defrosted our wedding cake top and each ate a piece. It was actually really good! I was surprised � I thought it would be nasty. The frosting didn�t stick very well to the cake, but it tasted fine. I actually didn�t eat any of our wedding cake at the wedding except for the little pieces we fed to each other after the cake cutting, so it was fun to be able to have it a year later.

But we still have most of the cake top left! There�s at least eight more pieces. So we didn�t really know what to do with it, because starting today I�m not allowed to have things like cake (I�m starting the South Beach Diet, but that�s for another day). We�d love to share it with our family to celebrate, but my parents just left for Florida for another couple of months. So we just wrapped it back up and put it in the freezer. Maybe we�ll have another piece on our next anniversary!

After dinner, we danced to our wedding song in the living room. We had to dodge the dog and all her toys, but it was still perfect. It wasn�t quite the same spinning around in my shorts as it had been in my wedding gown, but that�s OK. I love my husband even more than I did a year ago, and it was a special day. I wouldn�t change a thing.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004