Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Tuesday, Aug. 05, 2003 - 5:25 PM

My flower planters didn�t work. What a bummer. The brackets that let you attach them without drilling any holes didn�t fit. We could attach them if we drill into the balcony, but neither of us is too keen on that idea just yet. We want to look around and see if there are any other options first. So we�ll see.

Went to the unfinished furniture store yesterday to see about getting some inexpensive bookshelves that I could stain myself to make them look pretty. No such luck. There�s nothing inexpensive in that store.

Went to get a picture framed to match one we got framed a couple of years ago. They�ve discontinued the frame. And they want to charge us around $200 to do it. I know framing is expensive, but sheesh!

So I�ve been unsuccessful on several fronts in the last couple of days.

D has christened our new carpet several times. She�s way to old to still be pulling that crap. When we moved this large area rug from our old place, it totally reeked of urine. It was disgusting. We had to throw it away. It�s amazing that we didn�t smell it before. I guess it was just the underside that had soaked it all up. Anyway, the point is that apparently D has been peeing in the house all along, we just didn�t know about it. Now we know. She�d better cut it out or we�re gonna have to pull up all the carpet in the new place. Hee hee, then I could get the hardwood floors I really want!

Did I tell you that our house is completely carpeted throughout the entire house, including the bathrooms? Actually, the kitchen has tile. But everything else is carpeted. It�s lame. Who puts carpeting in a bathroom? I think we�re going to put tile in ourselves. I don�t like the idea of people getting pee on the carpets around the toilets and stuff. It�s just not right.

I get Friday off this week. Yay! I think my manager is thinking about pulling the 9/80 schedule because it�s �not working for him.� That stinks. I guess I�d better enjoy it while it lasts.

Our friends with the three little girls came over to see the house on Saturday. I don�t think I�ve written about this before � their kids drive me absolutely up the wall. Every time I�m around them, I swear I�m never going to have children. Chaos ensues wherever they go, and their parents are oblivious. Anyway, they all came over and I was instantly on edge. Everything about the visit irritated me. From the kids asking for food to the mom�s comment about my dining-room-to-be: �That�s just not my thing (nose wrinkle).� They used the good fancy towels in the bathroom, which really makes me crazy. Usually I have a regular towel on the counter so people will use that instead of the good towels. Granted, I didn�t have that out, so I can�t blame them for using the other ones. But can�t you try to use them neatly and not mess them all up? I swear, they were practically piled up in a wrinkled heap in the corner of the bathroom when they were finished. Ugh. That�s really one of my pet peeves.

Speaking of children, I have the teensiest little fear of pregnancy right now. Like I fear that I might be. There�s no reason to suspect it except that my boobs have been really sore for the past few days and it�s not the right time for that. Plus, I did feel a little nauseous on Sunday, but that could just be because I was out in the sun all morning. I�m sure it�s nothing to worry about, but I am a little worried just the same. I did have a dream about it last night, too. Not that it would be tragic or anything.

Something you don�t know about me? Besides the guest towels thing? Whenever I receive a letter or card or bill � anything that comes in an envelope � after reading it, I always always stick it back in the envelope. People who see me do it think it�s weird. Most people automatically throw the envelope away, but for some reason, I keep it. It�s not that I want the envelope. It�s not even a conscious decision. I just do it. I have boxes and boxes of card and letters at home � I keep everything � and all of the birthday cards and everything are there in their envelopes. I could probably reduce the number of filled shoeboxes I have by a third if I just got rid of all the envelopes! Whatever.

That�s it for today. Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004