Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Tuesday, Jul. 22, 2003 - 5:36 PM

This has been a crazy weekend. I�ll have to make it short.

We were supposed to move on Sunday, but the sellers are continuing to be big jerks. They were supposed to give us $400 for the ceiling fans they removed from the house, but they didn�t put it into the escrow papers, so when we went to close on Thursday, instead we had to put an addendum into the escrow papers, which then had to be signed by both parties, which pushed our escrow back several days so we couldn�t move over the weekend.

Fortunately, however, that meant we weren�t in the middle of packing on Saturday and the condo actually looked decent. In fact, it looked darn good. We figured it was our last chance to make it show well, so we cleaned it from top to bottom. Then the phone calls started rolling in. One after the other, everyone wanted to see our place. It was crazy. We had lowered the price another $3,000 � I don�t know if that was the difference or what. Anyways, we ended up getting two offers that night; one was 2,000 below our asking price and one was $10,200 below. We counter-offered both.

The next morning we found out the one lady was willing to give us full price, and we gave her until 2:00 that afternoon to get the paperwork to us. Meanwhile, though, the phone calls kept coming in, and we had a bunch more people coming by to see the house. There was one couple that came by around 11:00, and then they called to say they wanted to see it again (with parents) at 1:00. With that, B told their agent that he should call ours (to get the heads-up about our other offer.)

So they came by, and they were so cute. They were about our age and you could tell they just loved the place. As they were looking around, their agent was sitting on the couch writing up an offer. Apparently, then they took the offer directly to our agent�s office.

They ended up offering 1,600 above our asking price. But their financing and stuff wasn�t as solid as the other offer. Our agent was really encouraging us to go with the first one. I didn�t know what to do. The extra money sounded really good, and I liked the couple and wanted them to get the place. But I also had to listen to our agent and trust that she knows more about these things than me. B was also leaning toward following her advice, so I agreed to go with the first lady. But as soon as B made the phone call, I felt sick to my stomach about it. I don�t know why � it just didn�t sit well with me.

So we went on our merry way, and then we get a phone call from our agent saying that � get this � the first woman backed out of the deal, so she called the young couple to see if they were still interested, and they were thrilled to accept! I couldn�t believe it! So it all worked out perfectly � we got the extra money AND we made this couple�s day. I feel so much better about it now. Let�s just hope their money comes through.

There�s more to the story, but I�m outta here. I�ll try to finish it later. (I say that a lot.)

Bzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004