Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Monday, Jul. 28, 2003 - 5:39 PM

I think I�ve left you hanging on a couple of topics. I need to stop doing that. The problem is that I usually don�t start writing these entries until the last 30 minutes I�m at work (for obvious reasons), and then when it comes time for me to leave, I want to leave. So I do.

First topic: J. That�s over. As I think I said before, if I allowed myself to dwell on it, I could make it into a bigger issue than it is. The truth is that I have my life now and he has his. For the couple of weeks right around the reunion, it seemed like our lives were merging a bit and I felt like I needed to figure things out. But there�s no merging taking place. Nothing has changed except that we had a friendly conversation. What happened is still sad but it�s no longer important. Done.

The other business with the house is that, on the very day we were closing escrow, they tried to screw us for a $1,600 �enhancement fee� to the homeowners� association. They never disclosed the fee and then expected us to pay it. Unfortunately, since they waited until the last minute, we had to pay it or we�d be delaying our move-in for probably another week. So we sent them the check, along with a letter saying we were suing the sellers, the sellers� agent, and the escrow company. I think we�ll get the money back.

So that brings us up to date, more or less.

We moved this weekend. It was craziness. I�m so so exhausted. It was so much more work than I expected to be, and there is still so much work to be done. Everything actually went very well. We had lots of help, lots of cars to load up with our stuff. The mom of a good friend of mine came over with margaritas � she even had plastic cups and cute napkins and everything. My mom really came through with the food � breakfast, lunch, and dinner, plus paper plates and all the essentials. People thought of things I wouldn�t have thought of. Another friend of ours loaned us his trailer, which really helped out, and then he came over on Saturday for our last round of packing, loading, and unpacking. We hadn�t packed up the garage, mostly because it was such a mess we�d just stand around staring at things and wondering what we should do with them. But he just came over and started throwing things into boxes and onto the trailer. It was just the tough love we needed.

I think only two things got broken. One was a vase that I really liked but am not heartbroken over. The other thing was a lamp shade. Again, it wasn�t a big deal. We don�t have any lamps that I particularly like; unfortunately, this one was probably the best of the lot. But we�ll live.

D loves the house. She was so excited she could hardly stand it. She�s met all of our neighbors for us. She even went into one of the neighbors� backyards. H (the cat) is not so convinced. He�s not quite comfortable yet. The other thing is that we won�t let him go outside. From all the reports, there are lots of coyotes in the area, and all the outside cats have disappeared. Unfortunately, H used to be an inside cat and just in the past seven months or so started spending a lot of time outside (mostly to get away from D). So he�s dying to escape, and he tries to at every opportunity.

We�ve got the kitchen pretty much situated, and we bought a new kitchen table! I am so excited about that kitchen table. Ever since we got married, we�ve been eating our meals on TV trays in front of the TV. I hate that. It�s so white trash. We have all these beautiful dishes and silverware, and it was totally going to waste. Plus that, now we can actually entertain in a decent fashion. It�s wonderful.

We also have a brand-new, California King-size mattress! It�s soooo big. We don�t have a bed, though. Or nightstands. Or bedroom furniture of any sort. Our old furniture is now in the guest room. For our guests.

Yes, my in-laws are in town. B�s parents arrived yesterday afternoon. They drove here from Texas. I was dreading it before; I just wanted some time to get settled before I had to deal with house guests. I asked B to ask them to give us a week in the house before they got here, which they planned to do. But then we ended up moving a week later, so they�re here on our first week in the house. Actually, it�s working out OK. His dad is putting up ceiling fans (ahh, the ceiling fans!) and doing little things like that. I don�t think his mom is doing much of anything, but I don�t know, we�ll see. But I do have to say that I�m not looking forward to tonight. B�s at school so I�m left to entertain them when I get home, and I�m so so so tired that I really just need a nap. So there will be no rest for the weary � at least not this week.

So that�s the situation. We have a new house! It�s all good.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004