Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Wednesday, Jul. 16, 2003 - 4:46 PM

This I started writing on July 10 and just finished today. It would have been better if I'd written it all immediately. Oh well.

Speaking of days off, I had the most excellent 4th of July ever! I swear, I enjoy holidays so much more now that I�m part of the real grown-up working world. On Thursday, I had insisted on going to the beach. Of course, I wanted B to go with me, but I didn�t really think he�d enjoy himself, so I almost didn�t want him to come. But he decided he would come along. Well, I knew we needed to leave early because it was going to be PACKED, but I don�t think B really believed me. So we didn�t end up getting there til about 11:30 or so and we drove around for over an hour looking for a parking space. Let me tell you, there was not a single parking spot in ALL of Newport Beach. At one point, B was going to just drop me off, but that didn�t seem like much fun. So we drove to Huntington Beach, which isn�t as nice but was still fine because all I really wanted was my book and the sunshine.

Sunshine � well, we certainly got our share of that. We wore sunscreen, I swear! In fact, we even made a special trip to the grocery store and spent $20 on two different types! We bought this gel kind, which is cool because it�s clear and it evaporates and it doesn�t make you feel all greasy. The bad thing about it, however, is that you can�t really see where you�ve applied it. So � B ended up with a horrible sunburn streaked all over his torso � he looked like he had one of those raspberry birthmarks all over his body. And he didn�t put any on his legs until halfway through the day, so his shins are burnt too. I did a much better job than B � I managed to apply the sunscreen fairly evenly. The only problem was that I failed to put any on my upper chest/neck. The really funny thing about it is that I was reading most of the day, so there�s this perfect chin-shaped non-sunburned portion of my upper neck. It looks a little weird.

So then on Friday B wanted nothing to do with the sun. I still wanted more. We went to my parents� house for a pool party, and I decided to give up on the Atkin�s diet in favor of strawberry daquiries � good decision. I ate all kinds of things I wasn�t supposed to, much of which isn�t really �bad� � corn on the cob, pasta salad � and some of which is, I guess � guacamole and chips, apple pie, and ice cream. Needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed eating, and I felt much better running the next day.

I pretty much spent all day Saturday floating in my parents� pool. I haven�t done that in way way too long. I love that feeling when, at the end of a long day in the pool, your skin�s all dried out, your eyes are red, you�re a little bit sunburned, and you�re completely exhausted and ready to get a great night�s sleep. There�s nothing better.

Sunday � I can�t even remember what I did on Sunday. But it was relaxing. The whole weekend was a wonderful break that I really really needed and it was over completely too soon.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004