Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Tuesday, Jul. 01, 2003 - 5:00 PM

Yay! We got an offer on our house! It�s a little low, so we counter-offered. Oh, I really really really hope this is the buyer! We need to sell NOW! It�s really starting to grate on all of our nerves.

So, B started the Atkins diet last Wednesday (or Thursday?). I had said for a long time that I didn�t want him doing it, but we have a friend who�s lost 20 pounds on it, so now B wants to do it. It�s not that B really has weight to lose; he�s just got a little bit of a belly. But I can see why it would be frustrating to him � because we run so much and he lifts weights several times a week � to have even a little bit of extra weight.

So I finally broke down and said that I wouldn�t stop him from going on the diet if that was what he really wanted to do. I mean, he�s a big boy who can make his own decisions. So he started last week, and I was kind of fighting him on it a little, and he was trying to convince me of how much it made sense. Well, he finally broke me down a little bit so that I was at least a little curious about if I could actually lose a few pounds by doing it, too. I mean, my high school reunion is in less than two weeks; who wouldn�t want to take off five pounds or so? I�m sort of like B � I don�t really need to lose weight. In fact, most people would say that I�m fairly thin. But like most people, I�m sure, I have those little problem areas with which I�m just not quite satisfied. If I could get that little bit of fat to budge, then I�d be happy.

So I decided to start it on Saturday. Let me tell you, this diet is brutal! It�s so hard to adjust to! Basically, all you can eat is meat, eggs, and cheese. And everything you eat has to be full fat, meaning if you eat cottage cheese, you can�t have low-fat or fat-free. You have to have the fatty-fat-fat cottage cheese. And, for instance, B can�t live without his coffee. But he has to have it with whole whipping cream! (Actually, I bet he could have it with whole milk, too, unless milk has carbs in it?) So I�ve had to take everything I�ve been thinking about good health and dieting for the past 10 years and throw it out the window. All of a sudden, fat-free is bad, fruit is bad, salad is bad! And eating cheese and butter and steak is good! It�s definitely an adjustment.

The first day was really hard. I really wanted sugar. I couldn�t believe how much I was craving an apple! Yesterday morning at work, after eating my breakfast of scrambled eggs and cheese, I felt awful. I felt sick. And tired. (Oh, that�s the other thing � no caffeine! I don�t really drink that much, but I do enjoy my morning jolt.) I was ready to quit.

But I decided I�m going to stick it out for at least a week. And I have to say that today I feel much better. I�m not hungry AT ALL. It�s really weird. And if I do get hungry, if I just eat some string cheese or a hard-boiled egg, I�m fine for another few hours. But the biggest downfall so far is that I haven�t been able to run for crap. I ran both Sunday and Monday, and I felt horrible! In fact, I can�t even really say I ran on Sunday � we were up on the trails, and I walked most of it. And yesterday I only ran three miles! I can�t remember the last time I only ran three miles. I was just so fatigued. I�m hoping maybe that will get better, too, as my body adjusts. If not, I don�t think I�m going to keep doing this. I figure it can�t be very good for me if I have to quit my exercise routine!

So that�s the deal with the diet. If I haven�t lost three pounds by Friday, I�m quitting. Supposedly you�re supposed to be able to lose 10 pounds in two weeks. Frankly, I�ll be surprised if I can lose that much, because I�m not sure I have that much to lose. But we�ll see.

My mom and I were talking about the reunion last night and, of course, the subject of J came up. She got me to cry. I just said that it makes me sad. That�s as simple as it gets. It just makes me sad to have lost my friend. By the way, he will be at the reunion (I wasn�t sure before, but at our reunion planning meeting on Sunday we went through the reservations and he was one of them). But there�s not too much more to say on that subject for now.

I think that�s about it for today. Something you don�t know about me? The first online journal I read was pamie.com a couple of months ago. Since reading that one, I�ve gotten hooked. My other favorite is elizalou. She�s great. But anyway, I just bought pamie�s new book over the weekend and it�s really good! You really feel like you know this person. It�s strange. I think she started a revolution. It would be really interesting to do a sociological study on online journaling. Hmmm�.

Bzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004