Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Jun. 26, 2003 - 4:58 PM

I have been so incredibly tired for the past few days that it�s worrying me. I�m afraid I might be getting sick. And even though I know it�s nearly impossible, the thought has crossed my mind that I might be pregnant. Of course, I�m probably just being a wimp. But I really just feel completely drained of energy. Maybe it�s because I haven�t been taking my vitamins.

Last night I went home, skipped running, and took a 2-hour nap. I would have liked to sleep longer, but B was sweet and cooked a really nice dinner for us so I had to get up to eat. Speaking of eating, he�s decided to go on the Atkin�s diet. I was really against it for a while because his cholesterol has tested high before and Atkins is definitely not a low-cholesterol diet. But his buddy did the diet and supposedly lost 20 pounds, so now B wants to try it. I finally told him that if he wanted to do it, I wasn�t going to stop him. I almost want to try it for a couple of weeks just to see what happens (it would be nice to lose a couple of pounds before the reunion), but I�m not sure if I really want to do it. I mean, I�m not going to do it unless I do it 100%. And you can�t have caffeine or anything. No bread, sugar, pasta, rice, etc. There�s even a lot of vegetables you can�t have. In fact, I think one of the reasons the diet works is that there simply aren�t enough foods you�re allowed to eat so you naturally eat less and lose weight. Who knows. But I think it might be kinda hard for B to do it if I don�t. I mean, it would make it easier if we were in it together. I don�t know. I already feel so low on energy I�m afraid to try it.

And while I�m complaining, my knee hurts, too. It�s the knee I had reconstructive surgery on five years ago. This is the first time it�s hurt like this. It�s not excruciating, but it hurts. It almost feels bruised to the touch. And it hurts when I walk on it. I thought taking two days off from running might help. It hasn�t. Maybe I just need new running shoes. That might help. I hate the thought of spending the money on shoes right now, though.

So that�s my situation: tired, over-carbohydrated, and knee-sore. What a mess. I�m going to take a vitamin right now.

There, I took two. And I put the bottle on top of my computer monitor so I�ll remember to take them tomorrow, too.

Guess what! I just found out I get next Thursday AND Friday off for the 4th of July! That�s the best news I�ve heard in a LONG time! I�m so excited! It will be really nice to have some time off. Let�s just hope B doesn�t plan some big adventure. That�s the problem with vacation time � you�re always going going going. Sometimes I just want to relax. Go to the beach. Generally take it easy.

And�tomorrow it�s one of my co-worker�s birthdays, so we�re going to the movies at 2:00! I�m pretty sure that means we�re not coming back! Woo hoo!! We�re going to see �Charlie�s Angels 2,� which actually looks pretty good. Have I told you how much I LOVE MY JOB?!

OK, so what do you not know about me? I�ve run three marathons. Have I said that already? I�ve mentioned running; well, I�m a MARATHON RUNNER. It sounds stupid to say that because even though I run almost every day and even though I have run in several very long races, I don�t really consider myself a runner. My best marathon time is 4:37, which is respectable but not fast by any means. I got that time in my second marathon. My last marathon was my worst; I thought I was going to die and I finished in 4:44. I was really disappointed, even though a few minutes really isn�t much, especially when you consider it�s over 26 miles. In my first marathon, I ran 4:41. That was the most enjoyable one by far. I also think I was better prepared for that one than any of the other ones. I was so scared of the marathon itself that I took my training very seriously. Then, after I�d done it once, I think I got a little cocky and didn�t train as consistently. But that�s still pretty good, I think.

Bzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004