Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Aug. 05, 2004 - 4:47 PM

Work

My first job was working at Baskin Robbins for two years or so during high school. Luckily I retired from the ice cream industry before reaching 200 pounds. Possibly the best job I�ve ever had was lifeguarding at my community pools during the summers while I was in college. Coming in a close second was working at my university�s daily newspaper, where I was the Copy Editor and a features writer. Those were some good times.

After college, stuff happened and I didn�t quite know what to do with myself or my degree in English, so I found myself working as a nanny for two Angels baseball players� families. What was supposed to be a six-month stint ended up lasting two years. I �raised� one of the children from the day he was born until they moved away two years later, and I miss the whole family terribly. If not for that job, I might still be sticking to my feminist guns and vowing to never have children myself. Now I have a better understanding of what I�d be missing out on if I didn�t procreate.

Then I became a full-time graduate student, working part-time as a writing tutor. That paved the way for my next job teaching English composition to college freshmen. While I enjoyed that job, the pay was terrible and I was still considered part-time and therefore received no benefits and had zero job security. So when B and I met and planned to get married, it was time for me to find a �real� job. This job comprised editing financial platform after financial platform, day in and day out. It was horribly boring and tedious and I was ready to quit after about three months.

But I stayed there for 11 months before finding my current job, which I will describe in very vague terms. Let�s just say it�s in marketing and it�s exponentially better than my last job, but I�m still pretty much over it.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004