Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Aug. 05, 2004 - 4:45 PM

School

I am truly a nerd at heart. I�ve loved school since my first day of kindergarten. My mom had to force me to stay home when I was sick. I was always the �smart kid� and always worked hard even though I probably could have done well even without studying like I did.

I went to UC Davis and enrolled in the pre-med program, partly because medicine interested me but partly because it was the most difficult program I could think of and I�d been telling people for years that I was going to be a doctor. After completing almost three years of biology, calculus, chemistry, and most of O-chem, I finally admitted to myself that I HATED what I was doing. At the time, I was enrolled in an English course where the professor just oozed praise for my work, telling me how talented I was, so I decided to stop torturing myself with science and math and changed my major to English. It may have been one of my best decisions.

A couple of years after college, I enrolled in Cal State Fullerton�s graduate program and, two years later, finished my Master�s degree in English. I was very successful in the program and planned on applying to doctorate programs to become a professor, but I got burned out and had to get a real job. I still haven�t ruled out continuing my education, either pursuing my Ph.D in English or getting Master�s degrees in things like history, philosophy, American studies, or the like. I love academia. And I am, as I said, a true nerd.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004