Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Monday, Oct. 18, 2004 - 3:37 PM

On Saturday, B and I attended what was the best wedding I�ve ever been to, except for my own of course. Our running pal Tripper married her long-time beau, Walker. It was one of those weddings that makes you happy because you know this is a couple that shares a special love and that will stay together forever and ever.

And besides that, the wedding was just plain fun! It was in Palm Springs, and all of my running friends � those who�ve been running together for the past four years � were there. After the ceremony, we made our way to the patio, where each lady received a feather boa to wear. As if that wasn�t fun enough, then there was a martini bar and a table spread with blue, green, and red martinis.

About halfway through the warm evening, the wind started picking up, and it blew through the outdoor reception in huge gusts. Tablecloths were billowing and glasses were smashing on the ground. It was actually very romantic, like something out of a movie, a la �Forces of Nature� (with Ben Affleck and Sandra Bullock). Chocolate was spraying out of the chocolate fountain (into which you could dip strawberries, bananas, marshmallows, and pretzels � yum) and splattering across the tablecloth. Somehow my white feather boa also became chocolate covered throughout the evening.

And the drinking. Oh, the drinking. We started off with glasses of white wine immediately following the ceremony. Then the martini bar, where I had to sample each of the three colors. Then champagne for the toast. Then two orange juice/cranberry juice/vodka concoctions because I decided I didn�t like the martinis after all. Then red wine with dinner. And more wine, whatever happened to by lying around, throughout the rest of the evening. And another glass at the piano bar after the wedding was over.

We were in rare form. We took 170 pictures on my digital camera, which is proof of the fun we were having.

Just to give you an idea of how drunk I was, when we got back to our hotel room, I stripped out of my dress, bra, and underwear, wrapped myself in a towel, and told B I was going to the hot tub outside our room. He told me I was going to get arrested.

But he came with me anyway.

And more fun ensued.

But oh man, the next day. Wow, I felt like crap. I�d honestly forgotten what a hangover felt like. I never got sick, believe it or not, but I felt like I�d been run over by a truck. I was so tired, and I had to brush my teeth three times before I could stand breathing my own breath. I couldn�t keep my eyes open during the drive home, and I slept on the couch for hours yesterday afternoon. I couldn�t drink enough water. And even today, I�m still not completely myself.

It�s been a really, really long time since I�ve felt like that. And it amazes me now that I drank heavily on a semi-regular basis during college. How did I do that? Actually, maybe that�s why I was so miserable during college � it was a perpetual hangover!

~*~

Yesterday I took my very last birth control pill.

I�m still not convinced we�re not being utterly foolish to take our chances on getting pregnant at this point in our lives, what with the new business and everything. But when I expressed these concerns to B the other day, he said, �I guess we�ll just let the good Lord figure that out for us.� I suppose that�s what I�m thinking too.

I am a little afraid, though, of what going off the pill is going to do to me. Am I going to break out, gain weight, freak out and cry on a daily basis? I adjusted pretty well when I started the pill; what are the chances I�ll be so lucky this time?

~*~

Spike and Queen got engaged.

As in, Spike my boss and Queen my co-worker.

Actually, Queen isn�t technically my co-worker anymore since they gave her a new title so Spike wouldn�t officially be her boss. To avoid the conflict of interest, you know. Now they�re engaged! With a pretty square-cut pink sapphire ring. (Did you know they had pink sapphires? I didn�t.) It�s all the buzz here in the office.

That and the fact that I�m leaving the company. HR sent out an e-mail announcing my job as an employment opportunity (which was a little weird, you know, to see my job up for grabs like that). Ever since the announcement went out, people have been trickling in and out of my cube gasping, �You�re LEAVING??!�

I tell them what B and I are doing and everyone seems happy for us. And impressed that we�re actually taking this leap into our own business. People keep telling me about the business ideas they have, their dreams of owning their own restaurant or starting their own business from home, and then they tell me how cool it is that we�re DOING what most people just talk about. It is pretty cool. I think most people are envious, in some way. Let�s just hope it all works out according to our plans.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004