Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2004 - 4:22 PM

Two years ago today I awoke to my alarm clock, surprised that it didn�t feel much different than any other day. I got in the shower and took a bit more time and care shaving my legs.

Two years ago today, it wasn�t until my hairdresser finished arranging the beautiful white stephanotis flowers in my hair and attached my veil that I started feeling like a bride. Still, I felt a little silly driving down the road wearing my veil along with khaki shorts, a cotton shirt, and sunglasses.

Two years ago today, I arrived at the hotel where I would get dressed and found my wedding dress hanging up against the wall. It looked tiny hanging there.

Two years ago today, my sisters-in-law were still finishing tying pink ribbons and silver wedding rings onto my wedding programs.

Two years ago today, my best friends helped me into my slip and dress, buttoned me up, and put my shoes on my feet. My friend Karen helped avert disaster by applying my eye shadow.

Two years ago today was a blur of picture-taking at the reception site under a perfect blue sky. The light breeze kept blowing my bangs to the side.

Two years ago today I held a gorgeous bouquet of fuchsia, pink, and lilac roses sprinkled with stephanotis.

Two years ago today I waited anxiously in the shade of a tree for B to come meet me and see me for the first time as his bride. He said, �I didn�t know you were going to look so pretty.�

Two years ago today our friends and family began arriving at the church. They were each given a flower to be placed on the cross that would decorate the stage.

Two years ago today I peeked through the window of the bridal room to see the ushers walking down the aisle to light the candles at the front of the church. In disbelief I said to my bridesmaids, �Oh my gosh, they�re starting!�

Two years ago today, I stood in the back of the church on my dad�s arm. He told me to look around, take it all in, appreciate all the details that were, at that very moment, making up this special day.

Two years ago today, I kissed my mom on the cheek when I reached the front of the church.

Two years ago today, B got choked up as he said his wedding vows.

Two years ago today, our darling ringbearer tumbled down the stairs at the front of the church during the ceremony.

Two years ago today, B and I promised to love each other well, for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health, forever and ever. We meant it.

Two years ago today, I placed a platinum band on B�s left ring finger.

Two years ago today, my husband kissed me for the first time.

Two years ago today, we danced our first dance to �Amazed.� B twirled me so my dress spun all around me and he sang the words quietly as we danced.

Two years ago today, my dad made a speech saying that he considered B his �son.�

Two years ago today, I sipped white wine in the fear of spilling red on my dress.

Two years ago today, our friends and family danced around the big red barn to the Grand March and circled around us as we danced to the silly song we call �The Monkey Song.�

Two years ago today, B and I cut our wedding cake and fed it to one another. We didn�t smoosh it in each others� faces.

Two years ago today, B�s friends trashed his car, covering it with shaving cream, shoe polish, peanut butter, Vaseline, and fish oil.

Two years ago today, we danced our last dance to �Looking for Love.�

Two years ago today, the words �husband� and �wife� felt foreign on my tongue.

Two years ago today was the first day of the rest of my life.

~*~

There are moments, and they�re not special moments � just everyday moments when B and I are chatting in the bathroom as we get ready for work or taking a walk on a lazy Sunday or cleaning the kitchen together� when I stop and find myself amazed at how lucky I am to have found this love.

It�s all those little moments that make my happiness.

Sometimes I catch a glimpse of B�s wedding band on his finger and it makes me smile. It makes me feel safe, secure, content, confident in our love.

~*~

B and I have grown a lot in this past year. We�ve settled into our home and figured out the day-to-day details of being married. We made it through some challenging times as we tested those vows of �in sickness and in health,� and I think we�re better for it. We�ve looked into the future and started putting plans into action. We�ve shared our expectations and our fears with one another and come to understand and accept them. We�ve taken a tiny, tiny first step toward starting a family.

Our eyes are so big right now. We see our future and there are so many possibilities and opportunities out there to grasp. We see all the things we want for us. We�re holding hands as we take these leaps into the scary unknown. We�re doing it all together. Not him. Not me. Us.

I�m excited about us. I�m happy with where we�ve been and I�m eager to see what�s next. Even if it�s a little scary sometimes. I find peace in knowing we�re in it together. Let�s see what the next year has in store for us. Bring it on!

2 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004