Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2004 - 2:31 PM

This morning I got to sleep in because I had a doctor�s appointment (my last post-op follow-up for my knee) at 9:00 and it didn�t make any sense to go to work beforehand. The extra hour of sleep was WONDERFUL. Oh, I wish I could do that every day!

Anyway, I got up, put on my green shirt for St. Patrick�s Day, finished getting ready, grabbed my lunch, and headed out the door.

I drove to the doctor�s office, signed in, waited in the waiting room, waited in the examining room, talked to the doctor, checked out, and left.

I drove to the pharmacy to pick up some scar-reducing bandages (let�s hope they really work) and argue with the pharmacist about a prescription that was supposed to be ready a week ago but they can�t seem to get their act together and fill the stupid thing. I paid for my scar strips and left.

I drove to work, walked to my department, talked to my co-workers about my knee, pulled up my pants leg so they could see my scar. I turned on my computer and proceeded to go about my work. I walked to the lunch room to wash out my breakfast bowl and fill up my water bottle. I walked to the restroom and back.

I sat at my desk debating how I should spend my lunch hour. See, Wednesday is my weigh-in day so it�s the one day I always go to the gym and use the scale there. But what I really wanted to do was go to the park and sit on a bench in the sun and read my book, of which I have about 75 pages to finish before my book club tomorrow night. After wrestling with the matter, I decided to spend my lunch hour at the park and then stop by the gym on my way home just to step on the scale and then leave (even though it will also involve changing my clothes, because gym clothes weigh less than work clothes, you know).

I walked through the parking lot toward my car, which was parked in nearly the last spot because I got to work later this morning. As I walked, my shoes clicked on the asphalt � click clump click clump click clump. Wait, click � CLUMP??! I stopped and looked down at my feet.

I am wearing TWO DIFFERENT SHOES!!!

No, I�m not kidding. I am wearing two entirely different shoes! On my left foot is the navy blue sandal I intended to wear, since I�m wearing navy blue pants. But on my right foot is a black strappy sandal with a wooden heel!

My entire day flashed before me � the doctor�s, the pharmacy, the OFFICE!!! Had nobody noticed?! I saw one of my co-workers walking to her car and I caught up with her.

�Look at me,� I said, standing in front of her. �Do you notice anything unusual about me? Anything out of the ordinary??�

She looked me up and down a few times, squinted her eyes, and shook her head. I lifted up my pants legs and she cracked up.

Then I was really annoyed because this meant that I couldn�t spend my lunch at the gym OR in the park because I had to go home and change my stupid shoe. But then, as I got in the car, I figured �What the heck? I�ve made it til lunchtime like this; I can make it through the rest of the day.�

So I drove to the park and read my book, and every time a little kid ran past me or looked my way, I half expected him to look at me, point at my feet, laugh, and yell, �Look, mommy, that lady�s wearing two different shoes!�

I�ve now quizzed each of my co-workers, and nobody noticed without a great deal of prompting. So I figure it�s really not that obvious. But still, I think I�ll try to stay at my desk for the rest of the day.

Hee.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004