Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Monday, Feb. 02, 2004 - 4:00 PM

I had one of those weekends that made me look forward to Monday so I could sleep in.

On Friday night, B and I went to see In America, which really is a wonderful movie. It made me cry � really cry � tears streaming down my face, snot stuffing up my nose and all. Oh yeah, before the movie B and I had hotdogs for dinner. That�s not something I do every day.

On Saturday morning, we got up at 5:00 to set up for our garage sale. We�ve been overdue for a garage sale for over a year. It was actually quite successful. We sold a couch, a dresser, a bunch of old clothes, and a bunch of other crap like old dishes and whatnot. We made over $200. Not bad for a couple hours of work and a cleaner garage.

We lay around for a little while � not long enough for me to feel rested � and then we left to go to a dinner with our neighbor across the street.

Just to give you the proper mental picture, said neighbor across the street is 60-something, his wife is 40-something, and their sons are four and five. Ha!

So apparently he�s been hosting this dinner at the same restaurant where he knows the owner for over 30 years. He holds it every year on the Saturday before Superbowl Sunday.

I wasn�t really looking forward to this evening because I figured I wouldn�t know anyone and they�d all be older than me and it just wouldn�t be any fun. But it actually turned out to be an OK evening.

To start with, I had two lemon drops. Followed by some wine. And they served us this five (I think) �course meal of shrimp and bruschetta and pasta and steak and veal (which I didn�t eat), and we ate so much that I literally hurt by the end of it.

We left at about 11:30 with some different neighbors, and I was glad we did because our other neighbors (who we�d come with) didn�t leave until 1:30.

As it was, we ended up getting home and in bed at around 12:30. Long day.

On Sunday morning at 5:00 B woke me up to ask if I wanted to come with him to his half-marathon. My first response was �no way,� but then I felt like a very unsupportive wife, so I decided to go. We drove to Huntington Beach, where it was FREEZING at 6:30 am, and I cheered on my running friends like a real trooper. Even though I didn�t run the race (more on that later), I was still pretty tired from my early wake-up call plus several hours standing around waiting for them to run by.

Then we all went to get some food and got home around 1:00. At that point, it had already been a long day, but no, it wasn�t over yet, seeing as it was Superbowl Sunday and, of course, B had volunteered to BBQ for the party across the street (at another neighbor�s house).

So he cooked and I slept for about an hour before heading over to the party. Let me say that I have absolutely ZERO interest in the Superbowl. None. I didn�t even know who was playing until last Friday. I had no affinity for either team. I don�t even get that excited about the commercials. I only go to Superbowl parties for the atmosphere. The beer. The food. The friends.

The party was OK. I caught up with some neighbors I haven�t talked to for a while. I drank a beer. I ate lemon squares, cream puffs, and cheesecake. I saw Janet Jackson in Michael�s hand-me-downs, Justin Overrated Timberlake, and nasty-white-trash-I-can�t-see-why-you-find-him-sexy Kidd Rock, but missed Janet�s boob. I rooted for that kicker to make the final field goal because 1) I felt bad for him because to say he was �under pressure� is an understatement and 2) I didn�t want the game to go into overtime.

And then we finally got to go home and go to bed. Phew.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004