Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Jan. 29, 2004 - 2:36 PM

I have a zit.

It was a birthday gift. That is, I got it on my birthday. Happy birthday to me!

I think it came from my massage. The masseuse had been using this oil, and toward the end she did this sort of face massage, and I�m figuring my tender face skin did not agree with the massage oil.

On my birthday, it was just a hint of a zit, right between my lower lip and my chin, in that sort of chin crease, smack-dab in the middle. But it was just a hint of a zit at that point � you know, that little bump that hurts a little and you just know what�s coming. It hadn�t yet achieved its full potential.

The next day, I knew it was going to be a bad one. One of those painful, underground hard, cyst-type zits that takes forever to go away.

By Sunday, it was a Zit with a capital Z. It had fully matured. The only good thing is that, being of the underground species, it wasn�t really red or irritated-looking. It was just a big bump. The bad thing about this type of zit is there�s nothing you can do with it. There�s no head on it, and squeezing on it doesn�t do any good (believe me, I�ve tried in the past), so you have to just fight the urge and leave it alone.

So me and my zit have become quite close, hanging around together for the past six days. Yesterday, it looked like it was getting a little teeny-tiny head, so last night I messed with it and got a little bit to squeeze out.

But this thing�s like a super-zit. I think it�s really a whole party of zits hanging around in one spot. I really only squeezed one of them.

And now it�s all red. I do think it�s a little smaller today, but it looks a lot worse. I even had to put a little bit of concealer on it to cover it up, but we all know that�s not fooling anyone. Plus that, now all the skin around it is dry and flaky from my putting medication on it for the past week. It�s lovely, really.

This zit is quite a special zit � not just because it was a birthday gift but because it�s the only zit I have at the moment. I have to admit that I�ve had pretty good luck with my skin for the past several years. So having a zit for a week is really kind of a treat.

The thing is, my relatively clear skin only makes this zit all the more obvious. It sticks out like a sore thumb. If I had other zits to keep it company, this one wouldn�t receive all the glory and attention it�s been getting. I�m not complaining about my otherwise clear skin by any means � I wouldn�t trade this zit for a face full of them � but I do feel like its featured appearance is inviting stares from those around me.

This may be a case where it�s going to get worse before it gets better. Right now there doesn�t appear to be anything else on the zit to mess with, but now that I began squeezing last night, I may not be able to resist, and that means it will turn into a raw, scabby mess before my zit and I finally part ways for good.

Just thought I�d fill you in on me and my zit.

By the way, I did get some other birthday gifts. B got me tickets to see Varekai, the Cirque du Soleil show. I absolutely LOVE the Cirque, so I am very excited about seeing this show. Also, I don�t have to be annoyed by B for ignoring me the other day since he was, after all, trying to keep my birthday gift a surprise. He also got me a gift card to Borders Books and Starbuck�s! Woo hoo!

After work on Friday, I went to get a beer with two of my co-workers, and it turned out that my whole department and B were there to surprise me and celebrate. I was actually surprised � I had even been complaining to B that my department hadn�t done anything special for my birthday like they had for everyone else�s (yes, I�m a brat), and then they did! We just hung out and ate lots of pizza and drank lots of beer. I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Then B and I went home and crashed and I slept in til after 9:00 the next morning. Ahhhh.

Saturday night we went out to dinner with my dad and brother and his girlfriend and then went home for ice cream cake. B had bought me the most perfect cake � it had pink icing, a princess crown with jewels, and a magic wand! I love it! And very few things in the world are better than a Baskin Robbins ice cream cake.

The only sad thing about my birthday this year was (no, not the zit) that my mom wasn�t here to celebrate with me. Sadder than that is she�s not here because she�s in New York with my granddad, who is (there�s no way around it anymore) dying. I don�t know how much time he has left, and this is an awful experience for my mom, and I don�t know if I�ll go back to New York again (other than for the inevitable funeral) or not. But if I go, I will be going for my mom, not really for my granddad. Of course, I love him and want to spend as much time with him as I can, but apparently he�s really doing poorly and I�m not sure I want to see him like that. But if my mom needs me, I�ll be there.

Talk about a buzz kill. Me and my zit will talk to you again soon.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004