Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Monday, Dec. 29, 2003 - 4:47 PM

I had a pretty awesome childhood. I really can�t complain about anything of much substance. That�s why I�ve had a running joke with my parents for several years about how deprived I was, and I�ve developed a list of things they didn�t give me. One is a dollhouse. I always wanted one of those really elaborate, really detailed dollhouses with the patterned China in the dining room and the embroidered pillows on the little couches. For some reason, I never had one. Another thing I never had was ringlets. I always wanted those bouncy ringlet curls, but my mom didn�t roll my hair so I could have them. (Actually, I think she may have tried and my hair just didn�t take to it.) And last, but not least, my parents would never let me have a trampoline.

Growing up as a gymnast, having my own trampoline at home was my ultimate dream. I had a little practice balance beam, and my dad built me a bar in the backyard, but I never got my trampoline. Some of the other girls on my gymnastics team had trampolines, and I was always very envious.

Actually, it�s not really fair to say my parents wouldn�t LET me have a trampoline. The truth is that a trampoline simply wouldn�t fit in our backyard. In Southern California, houses just don�t come with acres of sprawling land (unless you�re a movie star). And we had a pool in our backyard, so space was even more limited. The grassy area we did have was also on a slope, so a trampoline really wouldn�t have worked. Still, I gave my parents enough crap about it over the years until it turned into a running joke.

But then I grew up and got married and moved into a nice, new house with a (relatively) large backyard, and I began to daydream about bouncing on my own trampoline in my own yard. I mentioned it to B, and he quickly dismissed the idea. �We�re not getting a trampoline,� he said several months ago.

I don�t think he realized that I was serious. I don�t think he really knew the years and years I�ve suffered being trampolineless. So I kept at it.

�I think we should get a trampoline for our yard,� I�d say.

�We don�t have enough room,� he�d say.

�It�s too much of a liability,� he�d say.

�It�s too expensive,� he�d say.

�It would kill our grass,� he�d say.

So I put it on my Christmas list. All I want for Christmas is a trampoline.

�We�re not getting a trampoline,� he said. Again. And again and again.

So I started really being a brat about it. We�d go into sporting goods stores and I�d point out the trampolines. We�d go into Costco and I�d point out trampolines. I�d ask him how he was going to fit my trampoline under the Christmas tree. I�d talk to Dixie about how much fun we were going to have when I got my new trampoline.

And every time, he�d say, �You�re not getting a trampoline. You�d better just give it up now.�

So I pretty much accepted that I wasn�t getting a trampoline for Christmas. But I also started getting a little annoyed with his insistence that I couldn�t have one. I told him that maybe HE wasn�t going to buy me a trampoline for Christmas, but that did NOT mean I wasn�t going to get one. I told him he didn�t get to make those rules.

So anyway, Christmas came and I was resigned to the fact that I wasn�t getting a trampoline. He gave me some nighties and some CDs and some candles and a new camera (cuz I drove over my old one). I was satisfied with my very nice gifts.

Then we left for Houston on Christmas Eve and spent Christmas with his family (that�s a whole story in itself that maybe I�ll get to later). We got home LATE Saturday night and went to bed.

On Sunday morning, B told me to look out the window and check out the frost (!) on the grass. So I peeked through the blinds into the backyard and saw �

A TRAMPOLINE!!!

My very own trampoline in my very own backyard!

Am I a lucky girl or what?!

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004