Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Dec. 11, 2003 - 4:48 PM

The Top 10 Annoying Things I Do:

1. Clip my fingernails. Everywhere. I think I have especially weak fingernails since they are constantly chipping, cracking, and splitting. Therefore I need to clip them quite often. I can�t stand having a jagged edge of nail or a little slice at the top that snags loose hairs. So I have fingernail clippers in my drawer at work, in my car, in the junk drawer in the kitchen, in my purse, and in my bathroom drawer. And I will use them at work, in my car, in my kitchen, or in the bathroom, the latter of which is really the only �appropriate� place to do so. I�ve even been known to do it in bed, which really makes B crazy. I pick all the clippings up. At least most of them.

2. Leave my used Kleenex around the house. As I�ve already discussed, I am quite a prolific sneezer. I can�t help it. And when I sneeze, I blow my nose. I can�t just sit there sniffling and sniffing up the snot I�ve sneezed loose; I�ve gotta get it out! Anyway, I have been known to leave a wadded-up, snotty Kleenex just lying around. There are two reasons for this: A) I am lazy and I don�t want to move from my comfy spot on the couch to put my Kleenex in the trash; B) I only used it once and it�s good for at least a couple more blows, so I�m saving it for later.

3. Litter the world with strands of long brown hair. I�m not taking the blame for this. I can�t help it. They just fall out. B is constantly complaining that my hair is stuck to his clothes, in the bathroom sink, on the floor, in his car. But it�s not like I do it on purpose � geez! I do have one particularly charming habit. When I�m in the shower washing and rinsing and conditioning and rinsing my hair, lots of it comes out. (Seriously, LOTS of it � I�m honestly surprised I�m not bald by now.) When you�re wet, it�s hard to get those tricky little hairs unstuck from your body. So I stick them on the shower wall. During the shower, I add to my little collection of loose hairs on the wall. Sometimes you can even make little shapes with them. B thinks this is entirely gross, but I find it quite efficient. Of course, at the end of my shower, I spray them all off the wall. So no harm done, right?

4. Forget to pay bills. Actually, this isn�t too much of a problem now that A) I�m married to the very fiscally responsible B and B) we pay our bills online. But I�m pretty much irresponsible and clueless when it comes to money. When bills or statements come in the mail, I tend to ignore them. Before I was married, when I�d get my cell phone bill or something, I�d open it and look at it and think about paying it and then just not do it. No particular reason � it�s not like I didn�t have the money � I just didn�t feel like paying it. It�s not a good habit. B was especially annoyed with me when it turned out I had a mark or whatever on my credit because of a late payment on my GAP credit card.

5. Arrive late. I think this one�s in my genes. Growing up, I was ALWAYS late for school, gymnastics, brownie meetings, whatever simply because my mom was late. (I couldn�t help it � she was the one behind the wheel!) It really bugged me being late all the time, so I really make an effort to be on time. And I don�t think my friends would really characterize me as a late person. As for the people at work, well, that�s a different story. I�m pretty much consistently 5 minutes late. Sometimes 3, sometimes 10. But I very rarely arrive at or before 8:00. In general, though, I do make an effort to be on time. My case is not as hopeless as my mom�s.

6. Procrastinate. In general. Regarding most things. A couple of for instances: It was only a couple of weeks ago that I finally closed my old bank account from before I got married. Over a year ago. When I stopped using the account, I had about $40 in it; when I closed it, I had $8. I lost over $30 just because I was too lazy to go close my stupid account. Another example: I put off taking my clothes to the dry cleaners until I have only, like, one pair of clean pants left for work. Then I take this massive pile of clothes in, and I have to be very creative for the next few days until they�re cleaned. Then I usually procrastinate on picking them up, too.

7. Leave the stove/oven/lights/TV on. I don�t have an explanation for this one. I guess I�m just absent-minded. And dangerous. And expensive.

8. Don�t return phone calls. Sometimes I just forget. But to be completely honest, I think most of the time it�s because I just don�t want to. I don�t know why; I just resist calling people and talking to them on the phone. Especially strangers, like the plumber or something. But I even do it to my friends. I think I�m just lazy.

9. Leave the laundry in the washer until it gets that gross mildew-y smell. I�m really trying to be a better laundry lady. At the beginning, B and I agreed that he would do the cooking if I would do the laundry. And for the most part, I don�t really mind doing the laundry. But sometimes I forget that I ran a load of wash until a couple of days later when I�m ready to wash something else and open the washer only to discover stiff, dried-up, stinky clumps of clothes. Then I have to pull them apart (because if you don�t, they�ll come out still stinky) and run the wash again. Sometimes this happens because of some glitch in the laundry chain. For instance, I haven�t emptied the dryer because I don�t want to (or have time to) fold the clothes that are in it, so there�s no room for the newly laundered clothes in the washer. Or sometimes I wait to put them in the dryer because I know I won�t be around when they finish drying (and if you wait too long they get wrinkled). Then when the perfect time comes to put them in the dryer�it�s really a very complex system, this laundry thing.

10. Leave things unfinished. Like lists that should have 10 items.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004