Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003 - 10:49 AM

Last night I started baking the birthday cakes for Dixie�s party. Yes, cakes, plural. You never know how many people are going to show up for these things, you know? My mom always taught me that it�s better to have too much food than not enough. Believe me, she took that little adage VERY seriously.

Anyway. So I was baking the cakes. First, I made a yellow cake to be frosted pink. Then I baked two round chocolate cakes to be stacked and frosted with chocolate. So the yellow cake baked beautifully (I�ve told you, I am an EXCELLENT baker � no modesty here), and when it cooled, I frosted it with lovely pink frosting.

It needed something more, so I put some colored sprinkles on it. But they didn�t look good. They were ugly. There were black sprinkles in there and it looked really ugly. I felt like I had ruined my beautiful cake, so I was going to try to pick the sprinkles off. That wasn�t working too well, so B suggested that I try to shake them off the cake. So I went over to the sink, turned the cake pan halfway upside-down, and started trying to shake the sprinkles off.

Now, before you tell me I�m stupid for trying this, let me explain. Earlier, I had wanted to get the cake out of the pan so it would look prettier when I frosted it. So I scraped around the edges and then very carefully turned the pan upside-down to try to get the cake out in one piece. It didn�t budge. So instead of pressing my luck, I decided to just leave the cake where it was and frost it. So, when I tried to shake the sprinkles off, I figured the cake would stay in the pan as it had before.

SPLAT.

I was wrong. It didn�t stay in the pan. It slid right out and fell into the sink, frosting side down, in two big pieces. It was the saddest thing you�ve ever seen. A sink full of beautiful, perfect pink birthday cake � ruined. RUINED, I say!

Dixie cried and cried and cried. Just kidding. But I cried. Just kidding again. B laughed and told Dixie that her mama was trying to ruin her birthday party. It was very sad.

So I whipped up ANOTHER batch of cake batter, but this time I decided to make cupcakes. I haven�t frosted them yet, but they will be beautiful. I will do pink ones, blue ones, and yellow ones. And I will not put ugly sprinkles on them.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004