Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Tuesday, Aug. 26, 2003 - 4:58 PM

Yay, I finished two big projects at work just now, so I�m taking this opportunity and using my last 20 minutes here to update.

It�s been crazy at work during the last few weeks, which is why you haven�t heard from me. I feel like stuff with the house is settling down a little, though, so that�s a good thing. Actually, last Friday I went to work on my �craft room� going through boxes, putting things away, throwing things away, and just generally organizing. I got a lot accomplished. I was quite proud of myself.

Had dinner last night with a friend from my old job (hi!). It was really fun, especially hearing about all the drama back at the old office. Yes, I�m still glad I have my new job. Actually, another of my old co-workers just quit that job too. AND she only gave two DAYS� notice! Our ex-boss (Curly) was none too pleased, to say the least. Ha.

What else to say? A request: Remind me if I ever have kids not to let them rule my life. Of course, I understand that they do rule your life in many ways. Let me explain. A dear friend of mine invited herself and her husband to dinner this weekend because they wanted to see the house. I have no problem with that. Well, they have a 6-month old baby, so she asked if we could have an early dinner (5:00) so she could get the baby home to sleep. Fine, no problems there. So then she calls and says they�ll actually have to leave our house by 7:30 if they�re going to get him in bed by 8, so can they come a little earlier? No problemo, come whenever you want. As it turns out, they ended up leaving him at home with her mother because he�s teething and very fussy. Thank you for that. Here�s the thing, though. They still left at 7:30. And they hadn�t gotten there until close to 5:30. And we were having a really nice time. But it felt totally rushed. And she was just making such a big deal about this baby and his strict schedule and everything and it just bugged me. I mean, when a baby is 6 months old, doesn�t it just sleep wherever? Maybe I�m just being na�ve and I�m going to be even worse about this kind of thing as a mother, but it still bugs me. I don�t know why people let their children control their lives.

On an entirely different note, work has been much better lately. Primarily because certain people are staying out of my hair and just letting me do my job. Of course, there are still the @&&holes, but I�m trying to ignore them.

My stomach hurts because my boss just gave me a handful of candies called �Sours� and they�re really good and I ate them all and I still want more even though they made my stomach hurt. Why are we humans so stupid?

Well, that�s all for now. Something you don�t know about me? I won�t let my dog place a single paw in the street. Not even to cross the street on a walk on a leash with me. Nope, I pick her up and carry her across the street. You might think this is strange (especially from the girl who just bagged on her friend for wanting to get her infant to bed by 8:00), but I just want her to know that it is never, never ever OK to go in the street. Because they don�t know the difference between a busy road and a cul-de-sac. They don�t know that you�ve looked both ways first. I�m so scared that she�ll get hit one of these days.

Now I�m thinking of all these other things I could write about, but I�m out of time and outta here! Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004