Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Jul. 31, 2003 - 5:41 PM

This has possibly been the longest week of my life. Well, I am exaggerating just a teensy bit, but it has been a long and exhausting week!

Did I do any of the things I said I wanted to do last night? No, not really. Well, B did cook dinner, but other than that I didn�t get much rest. We did get a lot of stuff done, though, like hanging pictures and that kind of thing. I just can�t wait until everything is put away and I can get settled in. I�m sure that�s going to take months, though.

I chatted with one of our neighbors again last night � the one I mentioned previously who I think is really great. Her name is Mary Jane. Anyway, she�s having a party for us and all the neighbors on Saturday night to welcome us to the neighborhood! Isn�t that cool? I�m so excited about the prospect of having some new friends! She also mentioned that she likes doing scrapbooking, as do a lot of other women on the block, and they�re getting together tomorrow night to scrapbook! I just might join them! I�m really looking forward to all of this.

The in-laws are leaving tomorrow morning. Actually, I have to say that I think I�ll be a little sorry to see them go. I think that�s a good sign. Despite all the craziness and wanting some time to myself this week, I have enjoyed their company. It�s helped being in the new house and having an actual guest room and guest bathroom that they could use. Before, our guests had to sleep on the pull-out couch � bleh. And really, I haven�t been around all that much. I�m really glad B�s been able to spend some good time with them. I hope he�s happy with the visit.

Speaking of B, I feel like he and I have been revolving in separate spheres this past week. It�s like we�re both there, but we�re not really there together. It�s just that we�ve both been so busy and so tired that we haven�t had much time to be us.

I can�t believe that tomorrow is August! Time is just flying. Summer is almost over. Before we know it, it�s going to be Christmas again! I guess this is what it feels like to be old.

My mom told me yesterday that she got a phone call from my granddad�s wife saying that he �is a very sick man� and that she should go out to see him (in New York) soon. I don�t really know many of the details yet, but it scares me. I know he�s old, and he wasn�t even able to make the trip out for my wedding last year, but I guess the idea of him actually dying hasn�t ever become a real possibility in my head. It still hasn�t . I can tell you this, though � if we get the word that the time is drawing near, I will go to New York to see him. I love my granddad so much I can�t even say. And it�s weird because I don�t see him or even talk to him very often at all. For years, we haven�t spent very much time together. But when I was little, he used to come out every Christmas, and he often came out to see us in the summer, too, or we�d go visit him in New York. When I was little, he just adored me � at least that�s the word my mom uses. I don�t know about that, but I do know that he was very special to me as a little kid. I think I could just feel the love he had for me. That�s all he is to me, really � a man with a big belly who�s just love through and through. There�s not a bad thing I can say about my granddad. He is very special, and it makes me sad to think of losing him.

I have to stop writing about this now. I�m starting to cry at work.

Did I tell you I cried at work a couple of weeks ago? This guy didn�t like the story I wrote and sent it to someone else, without any discussion with me, to rewrite it. I was really frustrated with that because this is still a new job to me and this is the first time I�ve worked on this particular project and I had worked really hard on the story and I knew it wasn�t bad and he never even explained to me what he would like me to do differently but just handed it off to someone else who he thought could do a better job. So anyways, when I told my boss about it, I tried really really hard to hold it together, but, as usual, I lost it and started crying. Not like sobbing uncontrollably or anything, but there were definitely tears. The next day I told him that, as much as I was upset about the situation at work, I was just as upset with myself for losing it in front of him. He said not to worry about it because he�s seen everyone in our department cry. That�s what he gets for having a department full of women!

Bzzzzzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004