Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Friday, Dec. 06, 2002 - 4:00 PM

I�m convinced I can make even my very normal life sound interesting to someone else. I mean, life is full of crazy crap. Sometimes the everyday stuff is the best stuff. Like Seinfeld, right?

I haven�t decided yet if I�m going to try to be funny and entertaining or not. Maybe just brutally honest. Of course, I also don�t want to hurt anyone I write about. I guess I�ll figure that out as I go along.

Here are some topics I will probably cover at some point or another:

1. Work. I have the world�s most boring job. You�d think that a Master�s degree would get me out of a cubicle performing the most tedious work day in and day out. My boss, who we shall call Curly, could be worse, of course, but leaves much to be desired as well. She�s too eager to be your friend, yet she�s the first to stab you in the back. I don�t trust her as far as I could throw her. But right now I�m high on her list. A few weeks ago I was on the shit list, so I suppose I should enjoy my new (temporary) position. The highlight of my job at the moment is that I just received my space heater, so my cube is warm and cozy.

2. My Husband. I�ve been married exactly two months and 22 days. So far marriage is excellent. The best part is sleeping together every night. I love my husband, B, to death. Sometimes I think I�m obsessed with him. Obviously, we�re still in the honeymoon stage. I think things are gonna stay great with us, though. I still love him the way you love somebody you have a giant crush on your sophomore year in high school. You know, that awesome kind of love. But I�m sure I�ll have some crappy stuff to share with you, too.

3. My family. My family is incredible. Maybe this won�t make for interesting reading, after all, since there�s not enough bad stuff to write about. My mom and dad are great. They have my dog, though � that�s the only bad part about being married is that my parents have the dog. Now I have to make do with B�s cat. (Not the same.) I also have a brother�what should we call him? How about Bro. Sounds good to me. So we�ll see�my family could make for some interesting stories at some point along the way.

I got irritated with B this morning because he wasn�t paying enough attention to me. I get sensitive about that. And sometimes I just can�t let it go. I think the thing that irritated me the most about it was that he didn�t seem to notice (or care) that I was upset. But then later he called and left a message saying not to be mad at him. It wasn�t exactly an apology, but I was just glad to know he had noticed.

We went out to lunch today for a co-worker�s birthday. Great to get out of this office. We told stories about misunderstanding words to songs, etc. For example, one of the girls thought the words to �Smooth Operator� were �Who stole the red eye?� I once wondered who Seldom was, of �Home on the Range.� You know, the guy who heard a discouraging word? And Bro once asked my parents why God�s name is Howard, since we say in the Lord�s Prayer, �Howard (Hallowed) be thy name.� Hee hee. Funny.

The other topic of conversation was eating food that still looked like the animal it once walked or crawled or swam around as. Like lobsters, or those whole pigs they cook at luaus. That developed into a co-worker�s story about her mother cooking snails. She felt bad boiling them so she cooked them at a lower temperature. Sounds like a slow, painful death to me. Apparently they�d start trying to crawl out of the pot, and then they�d sort of fall back in as they died. Torture. What a disturbing story. Now what I�m left wondering is where on the earth you buy snails for cooking??? I suppose you don�t just use the ones from your backyard! Not that I�m thinking about cooking any, of course.

Speaking of cooking, I don�t do it. B does. That�s a great quality in a husband. He�s good at it, too. I clean up afterwards to be fair. I think things are pretty fair between us. He cleans a lot�at least does his fair share, if not more. I�m more of an organizer, a picker-upper. But he does the scrubbing. It works out pretty well.

After work tonight I�m going to a Christmas ornament exchange. That�s what you do when you reach the late 20s, early 30s stage, I guess. That�s fine with me. I was never really one for those early-20s kegger parties, you know? This is much more my style. They�re not really my friends, though. Well, they kind of are, kind of aren�t. They�re B�s friends so they�re my friends too by default. Of course, I�ve known them long enough now I should feel like they�re justifiably my friends, but somehow they�re still not. Hard to explain. Unfortunately, the one girl I probably have the most in common with and could become closest with used to date B. Not for very long, but still. That always seems to creep into my mind. I�m always wondering in the back of my mind if they slept together. I can�t stand the idea of it. I won�t ever ask because I don�t want to know the answer. As long as I don�t know I can comfort myself with the thought that they didn�t. Somewhere deep down, though, I�m really thinking they did. Oh well. It shouldn�t matter now, right? Now I�m the only one who gets to sleep with him. But it gets to me still. Just the idea of it. I think I�m a pretty jealous type. (Remember how I said before I think I�m obsessed with my husband???) But back to the ornament exchange. I know I�m gonna get screwed. I always get screwed at these things. Even back in elementary school with Secret Santas. I�d always buy my person these great gifts, and then I�d get these crappy things, or nothing at all, in exchange. Even last year I got the ugliest ornament at this same party. I found it last night when I was unpacking the Christmas decorations. I decided I was going to give it away to somebody this year. I�ll have to think of someone I don�t really like that much. I�d better get a good one this year. I bought a really cool ornament at Crate & Barrel�maybe I can get my own ornament!

Well, I think I�m going to sign off for now. So far I�ve hardly done anything at all at work today. Not anything I�m supposed to be doing, that is. That�s pretty cool. Recently I�ve been thinking of more and more things I can do at work besides work. Of course, in the end I still have to get things done, but at least right now they�re not slamming us with projects as usual.

Signing off�.bzzzzz.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004