Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Wednesday, Nov. 03, 2004 - 10:51 PM

Dear Job,

At first, things were pretty good between us. You were different. You were so much better than the last one. You challenged me to learn new things. You introduced me to new people, and some of them became good friends. You and I had fun.

After a while, though, things began to cool between us. We had some bad days. Most of the time, things were OK, but frankly, I started getting a little bored with you. It was the same thing, day after day.

Still, I knew I was lucky to have you. And since I�d made a commitment to you, I still did you well. At the same time, though, I figured out ways to pass the days without truly concentrating on you.

I didn�t always pay much attention to you. I started spending less and less time on you. Even though I was there physically, I wasn�t there emotionally. My heart just wasn�t in it. And I know that�s not fair to you.

This might hurt, but honestly the best thing about you was the people you introduced me to. I started caring about them much more than I cared about you. Oh, and you did offer some great benefits. It�s hard to pass that up.

But you were taking over my life. You were so demanding � every day you wanted me there at the same time, doing the same thing. You never let me get out and do the things I wanted to do. You took up so much time. And the time we spent apart was never quite enough. Those days of freedom went by so quickly, and the days with you just dragged on and on. You�re very possessive, and I was feeling smothered.

Honestly, I just didn�t care about you. This might be difficult to hear, but at the end of the day, when we parted ways, I left you and never looked back. You were something I had to do, something that offered me no joy and little satisfaction. I felt like you were a waste of my time.

I�m tired of you ruling over my life, and I�ve decided it�s time to move on. These last few days that we�ve been together have been better, I�ll admit. You seem to have let go a little bit. And these last few days, I�ve realized how comfortable I�ve become with you. You�ve become routine, and it�s easy to find peace in that.

But I�m not satisfied with just being �comfortable.� I need more. I�m just not willing to settle. I deserve more than that.

So I�m leaving you. And I have to say that, while the first days away from you might be difficult as I adjust to the change, I won�t miss you. After a while, I won�t even think about you.

It�s really nothing personal. It�s not you; it�s me. Don�t worry, you�ll find someone new. We just weren�t meant to be, so it doesn�t make sense to drag this out any longer. The right person for you is out there.

Farewell. I�ll never forget you.

Love, Freedom

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004