Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004 - 4:44 PM

My web of deceit is spreading.

Last night, one of my co-workers called to ask how my �stomach illness� had begun for me last week, since she was feeling really bad and had stomach pains. If you ask me, it was wishful thinking on her part. Or the power of suggestion. I had to make up a story about how I had felt a little funny earlier in the day, but that the vomiting had come on very suddenly and kept me up most of the night.

Anyway, she called in sick today, claiming that she must have caught my flu. It�s actually rather humorous.

My department here has a real problem with weak immune systems, apparently. Actually, it�s not really fair to blame the whole department. It�s mainly Princess who is sick and/or has a doctor�s appointment once a week. I�m honestly not exaggerating. There�s ALWAYS something wrong with her. Even if she doesn�t miss work for it, she�s always suffering from some malady or another. She�s either dizzy, has acid reflux, has a migraine and must go to the chiropractor IMMEDIATELY, is nauseous, or has *unbearable* allergies. I find it insufferingly annoying (not to be over-dramatic or anything). She�s just such a whiner, it drives me crazy. And with her taking such liberties with sick days and doctor�s appointments, it leaves the rest of us with very little wiggle room.

Generally speaking, I never take sick days if I don�t need them. Of course, last week was an exception, and I�ve already told you I�ll never do that again. My conscience can�t take it. But usually when I get sick, I get REALLY sick. Not just the sniffles, like strep throat or pneumonia. You think I�m kidding. I�m not. Anyway, I�m using my past good behavior to justify my recent dishonesty.

OK, enough of that.

*****

Now that I�ve gotten a taste of victory, as in my recent 4th-place finish in the 10K race I ran on the Fourth of July, I�m determined to become a champion runner. I�ve been watching some of the Olympic track and field trials, and I�m convinced that, if I just started training a little harder, I could be ready for 2008.

No, I�m just kidding. I�m not fast, and I never will be. But I�m running a 5K in a couple of weeks, and I�m really going to try for a good time. I ran this morning for the first time in a week, so I felt a little rusty and only did three miles, but by the time the race rolls around I should be back in good shape. I�m even doing these speed exercises at the gym. They include a lot of jumping and squatting and hopping, and they make me tired and sweaty.

The sweat is something I really don�t appreciate. I know that sounds silly considering I�m at the gym and should expect to sweat. But since I go to the gym during my lunch hour, I tend to avoid exercises that will make me sweat. Because if I have to take a shower before going back to work, then it�s really not worth it. It just takes up too much time and I only have an hour to get to the gym, change, work out, change, and get back to work. Throw a shower in there and it�s just stupid.

So usually I just do abs, arms, and legs using the ball and/or free weights. Sometimes I do the little 30-minute circuit. It generally works out pretty well, especially if I�m getting my cardio in at another point during the day. But this jumping around gets me hot and sweaty, and it�s just not a good thing. Oh well, I�m still not taking a shower. If I stink, too bad. Those around me can suffer. But really, I don�t think I stink.

*****

I think that�s all I have to offer for the day. I�m sorry � I�ve sat here and tried to think of something more interesting, but I just can�t come up with anything. I�m preoccupied with the internal battle I�m waging about this business business. But I said I wasn�t going to talk about that just yet, so I guess I�ll sign off.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004