Archives

About Me

My Profile

Leave Me a Note

Join My realwomen Diaryring

Diaries I Read:

anniewaits

caela

starflowr96

artofliving

Draw the Girl

Journey of a Girl

Paralyzed with Happiness

Fussy

Suburban Bliss

Crazy Us

Mr. Ointy

Dooce

clarity25

sundry

stumblebee

DiaryLand

Thursday, Jun. 10, 2004 - 4:47 PM

I am short. If you ask, I�ll say I�m 5�3�, but I�m really more like 5�2.5�. But who�s counting?

Anyway, I love wearing tall shoes. I�m so glad the high heel trend has lasted so long, and I will be really sad when they�re no longer cool and I have to return to flats. I wear a lot of wedge sandals, boots with high heels, etc. Not like pumps or stilettos or anything like that. I love the way the high heels make me taller, make my legs look longer and thinner.

I wear heels so often that most people don�t realize I�m as short as I am. When I tell them my height, often people are surprised. I wear heels so much that when I�m barefoot or in tennis shoes or something and I stand next to B, I�m surprised at how tall he seems. And he�s not really very tall.

But recently I�ve had a problem with my high-heel shoes. I�ve been falling all over the place. This weekend we were walking around Santa Barbara and I was wearing my very cute brown wedge sandals (the ones Dixie chewed up � they�re still wearable � I just call them my ghetto shoes now), and I rolled my ankles and stumbled around at least six times in one afternoon. Sometimes it was because the ground was a little uneven, but to be perfectly honest sometimes it was just me being a klutz. B was truly getting annoyed, and probably embarrassed, too, and he swore I was going to break my ankle before the weekend was over.

Then yesterday I was in H.R. and I turned to walk out and nearly fell flat on my face. Apparently the H.R. girls were still talking about it today, since somebody mentioned it to me.

Then today I was just standing there (in my brown ghetto sandals again) talking to a group of people, and I just sort of fell off of my shoe. I just laughed, tried to brush it off, said it happens all the time.

I�ve also done it a few times while walking through the parking lot or down the hall here at work. Luckily, when I�ve looked over my shoulder, I�ve lucked out and there hasn�t been anyone there. But isn�t that the worst, when you trip or fall or do something equally lame, and you look behind you to see if anyone saw, and they did, and you have to act like it�s no big deal. And they�re just trying to keep a straight face until you�re out of earshot and then they�re gonna laugh their butts off. Yeah.

While I�m on the subject, I think I�ll tell you about my Most Embarrassing Moment. It�s not as good as some, but it�s a funny story.

So I was a junior in high school and I was on the cheerleading squad. We were scheduled to perform our competition routine at a pep rally one day, and the whole school was going to be there. It was either fall or winter, because it was pretty cold � too cold to walk around all day in just that teeny-tiny cheerleading skirt. So that morning I had put nude-colored tights on underneath my cheer skirt.

Usually you�d put the tights on underneath your little cheerleading underwear (the ones everyone sees when you jump or kick � ours were green), but for some reason � maybe because I thought I�d take them off later � I put the tights on over the underwear (we called them �briefs�). What�s the difference, right?

When it came time for the pep rally, I thought about the tights and how I should take them off before we performed. But that would mean taking off my shoes and my socks (because the tights were underneath those), removing the tights, then putting my shoes and socks back on, and I guess I just couldn�t deal with all that, so I left the tights on.

Anyway, our squad goes out to perform, and because I was a gymnast, I spent much of the routine upside down, flipping around and all that. The routine went well, and I thought everything was cool. My mom was in the stands videotaping it.

As soon as we were finished, though, my friend Jennifer came up to me and had this panicked look on her face and she�s says, �Oh my gosh, did you know you forgot your briefs today?�

I was like, �Of course I didn�t forget my briefs, are you crazy?� As if you could *forget* to wear underwear underneath a skirt that�s only four inches long! But then it clicked. Because the nude tights were on over my briefs, every time I kicked or jumped or flipped, all you could see was this flesh color. To everyone in the stands, it probably did look like I was naked under my skirt.

I spent the rest of the day explaining to everyone that I was, in fact, wearing my briefs and that what they�d seen under my skirt was no more than beige cotton. Some people hadn�t even noticed, which made it even worse when I went from class to class defending myself.

It�s not one of those Most Embarrassing Moment stories that brings a hot flush to my cheeks when I think about it; in fact, I think it�s kind of funny just because it�s so stupid. And it�s not like I spent the rest of the year being tortured by teasing or nicknames. I think most people had forgotten about it by the next day. But it was still pretty lame.

0 comments so far

previous - next

Site Meter

Working at home - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004

Toronto - Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004

On the way to Toronto... - Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

A Good Day - Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

Another letter - Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004